Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 12:20 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
the OP stated voltages ..i.e.meter. i dont care about the amp draw of the 80 amp. fuses blow, automatic circuit breakers trip and reset even if imbeddedin a power converter...
__________________

__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:27 PM   #22
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockett View Post
the OP stated voltages ..i.e.meter. i dont care about the amp draw of the 80 amp. fuses blow, automatic circuit breakers trip and reset even if imbeddedin a power converter...
YOU suggested a convertor that the op would have to run a new circuit to even use.
And it could possibly use up another precious 5 amps worth of incoming power.
I've been down this road many times and not once has it been anything other than a bad battery or a convertor when the lights dim and then get brite.

TURBS
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:46 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
i stated that I would not consider an 80 unless I had more than 2 batteries. It was not suggested. my apologies if that "perturbed" you...
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:50 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
breakers are often mounted between converters and batteries. these can be damaged and need replacement when the offensive battery is replaced...everything is speculation here since no one is present to troubleshoot for themselves
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:53 PM   #25
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockett View Post
i stated that I would not consider an 80 unless I had more than 2 batteries. It was not suggested. my apologies if that "perturbed" you...
Lol you didn't perturb me yet .
Only oc does that.

TURBS
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:58 AM   #26
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
So I did not see a post about checking your ground wires.

There are two. One at the converter (to the frame - and may be hard to get to) and one at the battery negative cable.

If the converter ground is loose/corroded it will act just like a failing converter since the converter will loose continuity with the battery.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.