Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 09:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Lost power to plugs

I lost power to some of the receptacles and the circuit breaker in the power panel is not tripped. The main GFI works and tested ok. However the two plugs in the kictchen do not work. I did test to see if the GFI works on those plugs and it does. Just no power. I assume they are run in series with the main GFI plug. I pulled the plug out seems to be all hooked up. Their cheap plugs. Not your normal plug, you push the wire into a metal clips. Only thing I can think of is it's not wired right for power. Last plug has two blacks together, then two whites together and then grounds. Any ideas.
__________________

__________________
dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:40 PM   #2
Member
 
CypressNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 80
Are you sure u don't have power? The GFI's I have dealt with won't trip and reset unless they have power, are you sure you are testing with a working appliance?
__________________

__________________
CypressNova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by dingo View Post
I lost power to some of the receptacles and the circuit breaker in the power panel is not tripped. The main GFI works and tested ok. However the two plugs in the kictchen do not work. I did test to see if the GFI works on those plugs and it does. Just no power. I assume they are run in series with the main GFI plug. I pulled the plug out seems to be all hooked up. Their cheap plugs. Not your normal plug, you push the wire into a metal clips. Only thing I can think of is it's not wired right for power. Last plug has two blacks together, then two whites together and then grounds. Any ideas.
The outlet you find as the "last" is not the last. One black/white lead to the outlet is the supply, the second set of wires is heading to another outlet in the circuit. Internally is probably a continuous cable. See if you can ID the closest outlet the the GFCI breaker. Read the voltage to either side of the outlet and if good proceed to the next nearest outlet. Eventually the power will not be present so go back to the last one with voltage. Thats where the connection is bad. That style of outlet is special due to its shallow depth. The prong connectors are quite good when made up properly. The last outlet will only have one black and white because there's nothing else to feed. Don't overlook the outdoor recep, its also required to be on a GFCI circuit and will be part of the loop.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:16 AM   #4
Coachmen Adrenaline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 254
what model are we discussing here?
__________________
jamiller45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:01 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
2010 stealth
__________________
dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:57 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Well, I fixed the problem. The normal plugs I reattached the wire to the screws. They were just pushed into the back of plug. Then I reinstalled the wire to the wierd plugs. Something worked
__________________

__________________
dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.