Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 12:23 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Oakman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jefferson County, MO
Posts: 5,201
X2 what windrider said.

We camped for years with a 30 amp trailer and the only time we popped the breaker was when my wife turned on the blow dryer while we had the A/C on, the microwave running, and the TV on.

You might consider buying a low wattage travel hair dryer. Many blow dryers use 14 to 16 amps alone. Add in the A/C and a 800 watt toaster while the blow dryer is on and you will pop the breaker every time.
__________________

__________________


Bob and Joyce
2013 CC Silverback 29RL
2010 Ford F250 XL Crew Cab 6.4 liter diesel
ATU Local 788
Oakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 12:50 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
tbritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Antlers Ok
Posts: 172
[QUOTE=MotocrossCamper;215670]I think a common misunderstanding is that "if i can do it at home, I can do it in my rv!" you have to remember that at home almost everything you listed has its own separate breaker to run off of. At the campsite your using one for everything.
I agree with (motocross) we are fultimers, for over 3 years now and do alot of camp hosting in different rv parks and (it worked at home) is a standing statement.be safe!!
__________________

__________________
2012 GMC 2500 HD
2011 303 RK LaCrosse Luxury Lite
Days camped 2010: 274
2011: 365
2012: 365
tbritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 01:28 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
To answer the OP's original question, about popping the 30 amp breaker, here is the answer. The trailer cord and load center is designed to handle the load of the camper. Any extra electrical load may not work. AC, Microwave, water heater on electric, when you add it all up is over 25 amps. Now add a television, and a dvd surround system, and you are at max. If there are many lights on, and the converter is drawing power for that, then you are definitely over 30 amps. We have trouble with some at work popping breakers, and we're not running televisions, other than to test, just refer, water heater, and AC, and all the lights. Of course, in the real world, all the lights should not be on at once, and we don't put batteries in them to make sure the converter will handle the load.

One thought, if you can cook outside, move the electric skillet out there , and use the regular house plug on the pedestal. And as someone mentioned, get a travel hair dryer.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:06 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Digger 47, I agree with Fire Instructor, but would like to add. Being a Retired Firefighter and Electrician, when you say shoreline are you speaking of the one in the park pedestal or the one in you load center? I had a similar issue, but the breaker in the load center in the camper kept tripping. I replace the breaker after doing some math and still had the problem with the new breaker tripping! I found that the breaker for the A/C and 30 amp main in the load center were next to each other. Heat was building up in the confined area causing the main to trip. I mover the A/C breaker down two spaces away from the 30 amp main and have not had an issue since. But if the park supply is tripping than Fire Instructor is right on! Hope I didn't muddy an water. Be safe!
__________________
2011 Powerstroke-Wildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 07:52 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2011 Powerstroke-Wildcat View Post
Digger 47, I agree with Fire Instructor, but would like to add. Being a Retired Firefighter and Electrician, when you say shoreline are you speaking of the one in the park pedestal or the one in you load center? I had a similar issue, but the breaker in the load center in the camper kept tripping. I replace the breaker after doing some math and still had the problem with the new breaker tripping! I found that the breaker for the A/C and 30 amp main in the load center were next to each other. Heat was building up in the confined area causing the main to trip. I mover the A/C breaker down two spaces away from the 30 amp main and have not had an issue since. But if the park supply is tripping than Fire Instructor is right on! Hope I didn't muddy an water. Be safe!
Very good observation! If not applicable here, works for others.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:34 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Midwest, Illinois
Posts: 49
My new V-Lite pops the breaker if the AC and Microwave are run together. In my mind it's stupid I have to turn off the AC to make a bag of popcorn.
__________________
Carr, Brenda, Hannah, Callie and Sammy. An F350, a 30WRLTSA, a couple of scooters, and little precious family time. We camp, we ride, we love.
beanoil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:36 PM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by beanoil
My new V-Lite pops the breaker if the AC and Microwave are run together. In my mind it's stupid I have to turn off the AC to make a bag of popcorn.
What are you plugged into when this happens? Home? Cg? 15 amp household plug in? 30 amp? Are using extension cord?


Here's the deal.
A/c starting amps 15-18 amps
A/c running amps 12-14
Average microwave amps 12-15
Converter amp 3-8


30 amp service to camper.
Math isn't hard here

That's not including if hw heater is running or tv is on.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:19 PM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
read this and add up the amps .
normal appliance amp draws
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 12:28 PM   #19
Member
 
digger47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 46
Wildcat - Shoreline power from the RV site. Have not had an issue with the breakers in the MH. Now that I know this is normal, wife and I reviewed our amp usage and have made adjustments. Thanks for all the input and help.
__________________

__________________
digger47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, led pad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.