Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2015, 10:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,027
OK,I just talked to PI. If Power Ped is NOT wired properly the PI unit will NOT power up your unit but will Supply a E Code! You can then Contact the C/G for Help! No Harm to the PI unit! Before I Pull/Back into a C/G site I walk over and (Check the Elect.with my Meter) if it is Wrong I call the C/G for Help! I do this without Pulling out a (Heavy 30 or 50 Amp Cord) also! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 10:33 AM   #12
Average Joe
 
MrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mechanicsville, MD
Posts: 689
Pretty much the same as Youroo, I check the power quality before hook-up. I turn the breaker at the pole off after testing, plug in and turn on the breaker. Simple
__________________

__________________
Joe and Karen
2014 Sunseeker 2450sf

Southern Maryland and Beyond!

MrJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 10:40 AM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
OK,I just talked to PI. If Power Ped is NOT wired properly the PI unit will NOT power up your unit but will Supply a E Code! You can then Contact the C/G for Help! No Harm to the PI unit! Before I Pull/Back into a C/G site I walk over and (Check the Elect.with my Meter) if it is Wrong I call the C/G for Help! I do this without Pulling out a (Heavy 30 or 50 Amp Cord) also! Youroo!!
Refer to post 9 , no need to call progressive!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 10:48 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,027
Everything Posted isn't always (Correct)! Second Opinion from the MFG. is a Smart way to Go! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:40 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Ecopco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 210
x4 TURBS


2015 Solera 24R
__________________

The Peterson Family
Southeast Louisiana
2015 Solera 24R

Living our dreams one day at a time!
Ecopco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:46 PM   #16
Paradise has arrived!
 
Paradise115's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 154
Ems is worth the price for the piece of mind not to mention the technology. Mine will sometimes take up to 6 minutes to run through the safety checks but it's well worth it.
__________________
Southwestern Pennsylvania
Paradise115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:47 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
jaxfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jacksonville fl
Posts: 319
Use a surge protection device that once it checks for failures then it turns itself on. I use it at home and away. If there is something wrong it will not allow the connection to happen. SO after like about 5 minutes if I don't have power, I go back to the connections and find out why.
__________________
jaxfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:53 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,065
x5 Turbs.

But, in one COE campground we camp in a lot, and I have had power issues there, I do check before setup. But if there is a power problem we have to wait for repair man to come because there are never any other open sites to go to anyway so it's not that helpful to check first before letting my EMS tell me there is a problem. (yes that is a run-on sentence but I just don't want to fix it. )
__________________
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 12:55 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradise115 View Post
Ems is worth the price for the piece of mind not to mention the technology. Mine will sometimes take up to 6 minutes to run through the safety checks but it's well worth it.
Ooo, that sounds excessively long. What kind do you have. Just curious.
__________________
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 01:15 PM   #20
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Regardless of whether you check voltage or not; the reason you should turn the main breaker off before connecting or disconnecting is to avoid burning the blades and socket of your cords and plugs.

EVERY time you "hot connect or disconnect" a small arc happens and it causes a burned spot at the arc. The more this happens the higher the resistance at the connection and the more heat at that blade. Soon enough it will be hot enough to ruin your cord.

Once everything is hooked up turn the pedestal breaker back on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7-1-12008.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	74401   Click image for larger version

Name:	airplug.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	74402   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF5741.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	74403  
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.