Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Himcules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
mod: adding 50 amp outlet to the house

got the parts from local home depot and lowes:
- 6 gauge 4 wire bundle, 8 feet.
- 50 amp double throw breaker for my eaton cutler/hammer panel on the house
- 50 amp NEMA 14-50R outlet box

got a 50 amp 30 feet extension cord from camping world on sale from their outlet section

debating if i remove the 30 amp NEMA TT-30R i put in last year for my old jayco class c. i won't need to use this ever again and if i needed to ever use the 30 amp cord, i could use the adapter from the 50amp 14-50R to TT-30R dog bone. hmmm...

too hot this afternoon to do it. will add it tomorrow morning
__________________

__________________
============================
himcules (10x stronger than hercules)
2013 Forest River Berkshire 390BH-60
ex 2007 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS
Himcules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Twisty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,138
Cool!
I'd like to do a 30 amp run.
I would need to pull a permit, have a licensed elec. do it and then get an inspection.
Not worth the $$ to me.
__________________

__________________
FOR SALE 2014 BOSS 6.2L F350
2012 Surveyor SV264
NW Oregon
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Himcules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
you just need the permit. no lic'ed electrician is needed if you know what you are doing. inspector is only looking for correct breaker, correct wire size, correct wiring. easy as pie to pass the inspection.
__________________
============================
himcules (10x stronger than hercules)
2013 Forest River Berkshire 390BH-60
ex 2007 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS
Himcules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:30 PM   #4
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
What I did, I ran 10/3 w gnd. Extra conductor in case I get a 50 amp unit. I will change the breaker to a double and outlet to a 50 amp outlet. But it will only be 30 amp 220. I don't for see needing full 50 amp 220 at the house.
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Himcules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChooChooMan74 View Post
What I did, I ran 10/3 w gnd. Extra conductor in case I get a 50 amp unit. I will change the breaker to a double and outlet to a 50 amp outlet. But it will only be 30 amp 220. I don't for see needing full 50 amp 220 at the house.
10 gauge is not sufficient for 50 amp. minimum per code here is 8 gauge.

10 gauge is fine for 30 amp service tho so you are fine. per code here, 30 amp only requires 12 gauge . i ran 10 gauge as well when i did my 30 amp tt-30r outlet.
__________________
============================
himcules (10x stronger than hercules)
2013 Forest River Berkshire 390BH-60
ex 2007 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS
Himcules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:56 PM   #6
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Himcules View Post

10 gauge is not sufficient for 50 amp. minimum per code here is 8 gauge.

10 gauge is fine for 30 amp service tho so you are fine. per code here, 30 amp only requires 12 gauge . i ran 10 gauge as well when i did my 30 amp tt-30r outlet.
That is what I said. 30 amp. If anyone is using 50 amp 220 at home, then wow. 30 amp breaker, and wire rated at 30 amps.
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
I have a motrohome with a 50 amp plug but all I have or need at the house is 30 amp. Why waste the money for a 50 amp ciruit unless you plan on living in it with both AC units running and everything else.
I use a 30 amp to 50 amp convertor plug which slips the 30 amp to the 2 hot wires to the rig. That's all I need to get the refrigerator running and charge the batteries before the trip.
Good information but no need for permits and inspections as long as you know a little about the electric code and electricity. If not yes you need to find a qualified electrian and pay him $150 plus parts.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChooChooMan74 View Post
What I did, I ran 10/3 w gnd. Extra conductor in case I get a 50 amp unit. I will change the breaker to a double and outlet to a 50 amp outlet. But it will only be 30 amp 220. I don't for see needing full 50 amp 220 at the house.
I understand that its already in but why not just run 8-3wg instead of 10-3wg and have the correct wire for 50 amps?
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Himcules View Post
10 gauge is fine for 30 amp service tho so you are fine. per code here, 30 amp only requires 12 gauge .
12 gauge wire is not big enough for a 30 amp circuit. Not sure where your code comes from the NEC has max overcurrent protection for a 12 ga. branch circuit at 20 amps.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Himcules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by fast murray View Post
12 gauge wire is not big enough for a 30 amp circuit. Not sure where your code comes from the NEC has max overcurrent protection for a 12 ga. branch circuit at 20 amps.
i questioned that too, but the inspector said it should be 12 gauge before i bought the parts. i installed 10 gauge and he passed it.

the outlet box is located next to the panel. the wire length is literally 16 inches.

since i have extra 6 gauge, i could just replace it while i'm at it... or remove it since i really don't need it... hmmm...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
I have a motrohome with a 50 amp plug but all I have or need at the house is 30 amp. Why waste the money for a 50 amp ciruit unless you plan on living in it with both AC units running and everything else.
I use a 30 amp to 50 amp convertor plug which slips the 30 amp to the 2 hot wires to the rig. That's all I need to get the refrigerator running and charge the batteries before the trip.
Good information but no need for permits and inspections as long as you know a little about the electric code and electricity. If not yes you need to find a qualified electrian and pay him $150 plus parts.
it's extremely hot here in the summer so when i'm loading the coach, i run both a/c's. 30 amps is not going to be able to power both a/c's, the charger and the fridge...
__________________

__________________
============================
himcules (10x stronger than hercules)
2013 Forest River Berkshire 390BH-60
ex 2007 Jayco Greyhawk 31SS
Himcules is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.