Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2012, 09:48 PM   #1

My solar project

Well, its done. I've completed the solar project and have let it run for about a week now. I'm no expert on writing a thread with running pictures with text. So I've included a few pictures of the project, but more are on my web site here:

Solar Panel Installation Photo Gallery by Robert P Aspey at pbase.com.

Some details; 2 SolarCynergy 140w panels, Blue Sky 2512iX controller and IPN-Pro remote, and lots and lots of hardware.

I wanted a mounting system that did what it has to but without too much hassle. The panels can be tilted to one side or the other, but not end for end. Simple logic, where we camp the most, we park east/west direction so there is no need to tilt end for end. I don't even know if I'll bother tilting anyway as the LED light mod and our minimal use of the inverter for TV only won't eat up much battery power anyway. And the way this thing puts out the power, it'll charge to 100% in no time.

I had to move the FM antenna to make room for the panels. Then I used the hole where the antenna was for the junction box. There the wires, #4, ran down into the camper between the roof and ceiling into a hollow wall. This wall was real convienient as it goes right to the section with the converter and charge controller.

The charge controller is mounted in a metal box that I made to fit into a unused section beside the converter. I had to make a door, stain it to match and mounted it with matching hardware. If the converter gets warm, I have a thermostatic controlled fan to vent the box.

From the charge converter, I ran PVC conduit along the bottom of the camper to a box just behind the battery box. In this box is the shunt. The box also allow me to tie into the emergency brakes system.