Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2015, 10:44 AM   #1

Need help on Generator Purchase

I purchased a new Puma 5th wheel toyhauler and did not get the generator package like I did in my previous toyhauler. We did not dry camp enough to justify the $4000 cost. So now I am looking for a generator for the new toyhauler for those few times we do dry camp. My question is ( I am NO ELECTRICIAN ) what is the difference between an inverter generator and a regular generator. I assume the inverter is for fragile electronics ?? Will running a regular generator hurt the rv fridg or a/c ?? I had the rv wired for 50 amp and up graded to 15,000 btu a/c (1) and have 3 fans. I know you must meet your wattage for what you want to use and volts X amps = wattage. I am back to the 2 Honda inverters @ $1800 or I have been looking at this inverter Champion model IK 525566 @ $900 2800/3100 and just the Champion generator IK 524487 @ $600 5500/6800. Very seldom would I use it around the house.

2015 Chevrolet 3500 HD 4X4
2016 Palomino Puma Unleashed 351THSS
2015 Polaris RZR 900S
Dear Black Lab Ruby
leadhead358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 12:57 PM   #2

Certain electronic devices prefer the output of an inverter generator and will malfunction using an open frame genny. The big difference between the two is the noise they generate.
For example an 1800 watt open frame Champion is rated at 65db and a Champion 2000 watt inverter is rated at 53db. The Champion IK 524487 is rated 74db (real loud).
The Champ 525566 should run your 15k AC or go with (2) Champion 2000's (inverter) with a parellel kit.

2007 Surveyor SV230
- 200 Watts Solar/MPPT Controller - 220 AH Battery Bank (Two-GC2) - 600 watt PSW Inverter - (2) 2000 watt Inverter Generators - LED Lighting
2009 F150 - 5.4 Litre with Tow Package

Boon Docking 99% of the time.
boondocking is offline   Reply With Quote