Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2016, 08:57 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 4,284
I am a little slow upstairs sometimes if you know what I mean but I just thought of something. When anyone comes on here and says anything about what kind of truck to get it never fails to bring out the weight police. I have figured it out, this has brought out the battery police. Where is a moderator when you need one, please do me a favor and shut this thread down. I'm tired of being called stupid and other stuff, I know what I'm doing. If you can't post anything positive then don't post!


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2015 Cedar Creek 32RL
2012 Silverado 3500HD SRW
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ignhavefun.gif
spock123 is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 09:01 AM   #42
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock123 View Post
I am a little slow upstairs sometimes if you know what I mean but I just thought of something. When anyone comes on here and says anything about what kind of truck to get it never fails to bring out the weight police. I have figured it out, this has brought out the battery police. Where is a moderator when you need one, please do me a favor and shut this thread down. I'm tired of being called stupid and other stuff, I know what I'm doing. If you can't post anything positive then don't post!


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
There was a Moderator here trying to help. He is busy elsewhere.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 09:32 AM   #43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,598
You asked! I am not being negative just posting data. All design is a compromise between device parameters and intended use.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 10:43 AM   #44
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
It's all good, and we are all friends here just trying to learn and help one another. When I first looked at the pic posted in the second post, it was confusing to me somewhat as it appeared the cable on the left hand side of the battery bank (the one that has the red terminal) was actually two cables and perhaps were load wires going to the inverter. It was hard to tell with the center of the cable being kind of in the dark,

Once I downloaded the pic and brightened it up, I could tell it was just one long cable, connecting the two negative terminals....and there are not load wires currently installed. This may have been the same confusion for others in this thread too.

Spock123, I cannot see where anyone has called you or anybody else "stupid". It's been a good thread, although initially confusing somewhat to me. It's a learning opportunity for many, and some good advice/experience has been shared.

We should be all good. Live long and prosper as my favorite Spock would say.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cable.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	207.4 KB
ID:	104453  
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:52 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
Perhaps but 250 is all there is! Look at the specs for your spanking new T-105s. Sure you can run everything...for how long? Looks to me like about 35 minutes per pair...and that is to 10.5 volts...i.e. totally discharged...totally dead...0% SOC! Both banks together would be 70 minutes and that is really an optimistic number. Then how you gonna charge them cause if you don't do it right away they will be permanently damaged.

And that is only at 250 amps or the equivalent of 25 amps of shore power.

Look for yourself. http://www.trojanbattery.com/pdf/dat...ata_Sheets.pdf
You had me confused with another on this post in your rush to ____. I have over 800Ah of battery! That will last quite a while even running the AC. I have 150amps of charging, shore power, generator, plus solar.

Again, one needs to be polite and not dismissive. I am just trying to assist with things many have never considered that I have been doing for decades. It will be easier to see and understand in a couple of months once I get my TT and "my mods" installed. The pics will make it obvious what I've been trying to communicate.
__________________
'17 270S
270S is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 02:22 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by 25FKS View Post
You had me confused
No...actually you had me confused when you said that you were installing this bank of 4 T-105's to power your inverter. So...that is all they will give you. If you bring on your other bank of 4 whatever's then of course you have more. I wasn't being dismissive I was simply responding to what you posted.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 04:56 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
No...actually you had me confused when you said that you were installing this bank of 4 T-105's to power your inverter. So...that is all they will give you. If you bring on your other bank of 4 whatever's then of course you have more. I wasn't being dismissive I was simply responding to what you posted.
I try not to quote because it usually just gets that person possibly upset, but here it must be noted that the post was by the original person Spock123 not 25FKS, but you have overlooked the obvious details. I never mentioned I had T105s.

I'm done at this point - you apparently will continue on ..... I am not trying to upset anyone, but when someone insists on facts that are incorrect, I will do my best to point them in the correct direction unless futility sets in.
__________________
'17 270S
270S is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 10:08 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,598
Of course you are correct. We were having a "who is on first" with Spock. My bad, sorry.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline  
Old 04-11-2016, 12:22 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,007
[QUOTE=spock123;1158110]I have a new bank of Trojans, T-105. I have 4 six volt batteries, I picked them up in Florida for $100 bucks apiece. I am hooking up a 40amp charger plus a 3000 watt inverter, all hard wired. This bank will be just for microwave and tv. I have a residential refrigerator and a separate bank of batteries for the refrigerator. On some of the wiring to the batteries I will not be able to hook all the cables to the right post. Would it be okay to bolt some of the cables together. I could drill a hole in a cable end and bolt them together right at the post. Would it be worth it to install a inline fuse on the positive side? On the inverter I have 2 positive cables and 2 negative cables. I have did this before about eight years ago but the batteries were brought from Sam's and I had more post to work with. Any help would be appreciated


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums[/QUOTE


I would start with inverter as close to batteries as possible. 3000 watt inverter will pull about 250 amps from the battery so fuse accordingly and fuse as near the batteries as you can. Keep you 12v run as short as possible and without getting too technical, I would say 2-0 cables. That is not to be confused with 2ga which is about two sizes smaller. I run 2ga to a 2000 watt pure sine wave inverter with no problems on a 3 Foot run, but never run full load for more than a couple minutes.

With a res frig, and big batteries in addition to house batts, and inverter planning I assume you are planning to be off grid some. What are you charging with? If you run 4 sixes in a bank, I would think 400 Watts solar per bank of four would give you virtual energy Independence. It's a sizable investment but more manageable from WindyNation.com or Renogy.com. good luck
__________________
Tom48 is offline  
Old 04-11-2016, 12:46 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by spock123 View Post
I am thinking that on my inverter with the two positive cables I could hook both up to one battery disconnects and then run one cable to the batteries and do the same for the negative side. The negative side is not the problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
I tied mine the other way. Two battery leads to one big fuse and one big fuse cable to the single lug on my inverter. I think they do two lug to double wire and thereby let you use thiner more flexible cables. As long as what feeds the two, is balanced in GA and run length seems like it should be no problem.
__________________

__________________
Tom48 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
inverter, wiring, battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.