Old 04-29-2016, 04:22 PM   #1

Need help with toy hauler electrical issue

I'm new to the forum and have a question about my forest river xlr toyhauler. Recently while camping the lights have began to flicker and dim down to where all you can see lit up is the element in the bulbs. Also all other electrics (a/c,microwave,tv,radio,ect) if turned on will either go off or flash on and off. Until I go out and unplug from main power source. Ive notice it does it mostly when I put a load on the electrical system such as using a/c. I'm new to the camping world and my first thought may be the converter but I'm honestly not sure or how to check if it's that or something else. Any help would be appreciated thanks.

Old 04-29-2016, 04:35 PM   #2
Head Rambler

It sounds like a problem with the converter/power panel.
Have you checked all the connections in the converter/power panel?

Are you plugging into the same power pedestal every time?
Have you had the power at the pedestal checked?

Is the battery good in the unit?

Old 04-29-2016, 04:39 PM   #3

I've tried several different pedestals and all the connects seem to be fine. The furnace light will come on in the breaker box when the lights dim other than that i haven't been Able to find any issues. I haven't checked the batteries but will now. Tha may be a dumb question but even if it's plugged into a 50 amp service or rear of my truck would the batteries keep it from working properly?
Old 04-29-2016, 04:44 PM   #4
Head Rambler

It really sounds like a bad converter, or loose incoming wire connection.

Did you check and tighten the incoming line terminals in the panel? Even if they look good, it's a good idea to try to tighten them.
Old 04-29-2016, 04:45 PM   #5
Site Team