Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2015, 01:28 PM   #1

New batteries not lasting past one day

I have a 2015 Wildwood 27 ft. A fully loaded battery won't last more than one day. I have been camping for over 40 years attending the same event 2x per year and 3 previous campers batteries have lasted 4 days. All camping is self contained and energy use is used sparingly. We burn candles at night when not in the camper (safely). Two showers daily. Get wet, shut off, turn on to rinse and get out. Wash minimal dishes. Use paper plates, cups etc. Refrig. is on gas and is only two way anyhow. Dealer found nothing wrong. Two new deep cycle batteries that don't last. Any ideas?
fritzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 01:47 PM   #2

What brand, what series (size) batteries?
Can check to see if you have some type of parasitic load. Get a shunt and a miltimeter and you can test to see what the drain is with everything off.

Living somewhere in ID; previously lived in Moab UT; previous to that, don't ask!
f5moab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 01:48 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

What size batteries?
What's the ah?

Do you have an amp meter?

Need to put one on see how many amps your pulling then start pulling fuses till you find the high draw circuit.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "6 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 02:24 PM   #4

Not sure if your refrigerator has the Climate Condensation Feature or whatever it is called, but here is some information about power draws from it. Dometic used to put a switch on the unit where you could turn it off. My understanding now is they are on all the time and you have to disconnect or break the circuit manually to disable it so it doesn't draw power.

I have been going to do the Mod on mine, but dry camp rarely so it hasn't mattered yet.