Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 08:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Amarillo/Tx
Posts: 381
new load center

My new load center arrived today and the day to install is approaching,but first a few clarifications. It has two buss bars in the front,one for green-ground-and one for white-common- and there is one on the back that says ground--question is,what do I connect to this one?? I suspect that when I take the old one out this questiiion will be answered but I am wanting to know now and I know there is an elecrtical guru on here..Thanks fotr your time----I got a progressive dynamics PD5000 model
__________________

__________________
2017 Georgetown 329S


Toad 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Tbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:45 AM   #2
Coachmen Adrenaline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 254
is it behind the larger half(120Vac) or the smaller half(12Vdc)? larger and smaller in reference to depth of box.
__________________

__________________
jamiller45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Amarillo/Tx
Posts: 381
It is behind the 120 vac side.
__________________
2017 Georgetown 329S


Toad 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Tbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 02:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Fire Instructor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Upstate (Albany Area) NY
Posts: 772
I believe that this is where you tie together all of the 120v grounds, and tie them to the 120v ground pin from your power umbilicle. From what I've read, and I'm NOT the expert, problems occur quickly when the 120v ground and the 12v ground are tied together. The TT 120 gets it's ground back through the plug, whie the 12v grounds back to the chassis and battery.
__________________
Fire Instructor

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie 4x4 Quad Cab w/Cummins Turbo Diesel, 2009 Rockwood 2607, and 3 'yaks!
300W of Suntech Solar, a Rogue MPT-3024 Controller, and a Xantrex PW2000 Inverter
Fire Instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 04:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Amarillo/Tx
Posts: 381
This buss is not connected to the inside box ground buss--I am thinking It will be more clear once I get it out to where I can see it--I have looked n the net and can't get any pics of how it is done..
__________________
2017 Georgetown 329S


Toad 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Tbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:07 PM   #6
Coachmen Adrenaline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 254
I will go out to the line tomorrow morning and get an answer for you on this. We s
Use the pd50 series box and I know which bar you are talking about. I am thinking it is just and extra grd bar for 120 vac so we don't have to run all the wires inside the box. To make things faster I guess. Will know for sure in am. Will respond by 8am est. If not, send me a pm, as the coffee must not have kicked in yet.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------
I am on this forum to help as I can, and am in no way the official response of Forest River, Inc.
jamiller45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Amarillo/Tx
Posts: 381
jamiller45,thanks,Iwill return tomorrow..
__________________
2017 Georgetown 329S


Toad 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Tbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:42 AM   #8
Coachmen Adrenaline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 254
Ok. After going out and looking at one of the boxes and talking with the installer, the ground bar on the back of the box is the 12Vdc ground. the black bus bar on the smaller section is the 12Vdc hot bar. picture attached to verify we are looking at the same thing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pd50 12V grd bar.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	18070  
__________________
jamiller45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:25 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Amarillo/Tx
Posts: 381
Jamiller,thanks ,that makes perfect sense..I do apppreciate your time --if you dont mind ,I may PM you for info later--if I can figure out how to on this forum--it is different than the RVnet forum and i am having a litttle trouble getting used to how it operates..Thanks again..
__________________
2017 Georgetown 329S


Toad 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Tbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 07:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Amarillo/Tx
Posts: 381
Got the load center installed without too much trouble and everything works as it is supposed to.Luckily FR left enough wire so I could get it out and do the job.Wasn't real easy between the bed and the wall but the hardest part was enlarging the hole,and getting up and down 56,487 times to get tools or parts.Thanks again JAMILLER45 for your very valuable information.
__________________

__________________
2017 Georgetown 329S


Toad 2015 Toyota Tacoma
Tbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.