Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2015, 09:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
New rv tripping breaker at poles

Recently purchased a 2016 Cherokee and just love it. However on each camping trip we have taken we have tripped the breaker at the pole. It has happened at different campgrounds, different areas. Typically we would arrive mid afternoon, and by evening while having only a/c on and sometimes a tv the power would trip. We reset breaker at the pole and the rest of the trip is just fine, doing nothing different! We have a surge protector that shows power being used and with everything off but 15btu a/c used 15 amps. Hubby is considering purchasing a 30 to 50 adaptor (rv is 30 amp) but I really would like to know if something is wrong. Had it at dealer for a part replacement, nothing to do with this, but asked them to check. We were told they plugged in and it didn't trip. If they turn in a work order and look further they will charge us if they don't find anything wrong. Thing is, we could tell our cord was quite obviously not used and the guy told us he used our cord to check it. Not sure what to do at this point. Want to be safe!
__________________

__________________
Kmmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 948
You have other things running such as your converter maybe water heater operating on electric. Having a 15K A\C unit its takes extra amps. It may trip breaker from time to time. It is about managing your power usage. Purchasing an adapter will not help you will still have only 30 amps but it could be handy if post has a bad 30 amp receptical.
__________________

__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
Nights camping in 2017: 20 nights
Miles traveled in 2017: 1,530
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Where the stars at night are big and bright
Posts: 436
That sounds like old breakers at the campgrounds you frequent. Those things are out in the weather all year-round and dust, etc, builds up until the breaker won't hold anymore. They need to clean them out or replace them. It isn't your unit, but going to the 50-amp plug through a 30-50 adapter might help.
__________________
elchilero53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:47 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
The campgrounds vary from NW Florida to east Georgia. What stumps us is that once we reset that first time we are good for the rest of the trip, not tripping again! Only once did we trip multiple times and the campground mgr replaced the breaker and we were fine after that. With our smaller 2006 rv (outback) we didn't run into these problems. Was also wondering if it could be our cord? Everything is so new though. We definitely will watch our power usage but this last time we only had a/c, TV and refrigerator going. Water heater was on gas.
__________________
Kmmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 1,547
nothing in the cord should trip the breaker, short of it NOT working at all... I would not worry about the cord at all.

I use a product called Deoxit D5 5% sold on Amazon to clean the outlets at the campgrounds. Cost about $15, but works real well on keeping the current flowing with fewer problems with those outdoor power poles. Just a short squirt into the outlet(s) make them like new as far as getting the best and cleanest connection you can get. A can should last a number of years.

I also use it on my TT connections to the TV... cleans and protects them, so it is useful for a couple of travel items.
Attached Images
 
__________________


2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 10:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
doodler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 202
I had a similar situation happen at two different campgrounds, then I found my problem when breaking down camp, where my cord plugs into side of camper had a bad connection, it melted together and I liked to never got it unplugged. Not saying that's your problem, but something to check. This was all within first couple of times out with a new unit.
__________________
doodler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 11:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by elchilero53 View Post
That sounds like old breakers at the campgrounds you frequent. Those things are out in the weather all year-round and dust, etc, builds up until the breaker won't hold anymore. They need to clean them out or replace them. It isn't your unit, but going to the 50-amp plug through a 30-50 adapter might help.
You wouldn't believe what the breakers and panels look like on farms here in SD. If this was true we wouldn't be able to keep up with the service calls for bin fans and unload augers. The pedestals in the campgrounds around here look fantastic compared to the junk I see on farms that still works fine.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 11:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
IF you have a chance and are inclined, use a clamp meter to check your amp draw while doing routine things. Generally, the most common reason for a breaker to trip is because of an overload. Go figure.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:31 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
We do have that surge protector which show amps used. Pretty handy. So far everything looks good. I did wonder if the bigger a/c would make a difference. Cord checks out fine. Will get some of that Deoxit, that's sounds like a great idea either way. Will spend time this weekend checking things out. Thanks for the advice!
__________________
Kmmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 07:39 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhduh camping View Post
You have other things running such as your converter maybe water heater operating on electric. Having a 15K A\C unit its takes extra amps. It may trip breaker from time to time. It is about managing your power usage. Purchasing an adapter will not help you will still have only 30 amps but it could be handy if post has a bad 30 amp receptical.
You'll still only have 30 amps but you may have more volts!



TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "24 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.