Old 06-16-2012, 12:41 AM   #1

New User -Constant Batt drain + fridge issue

Hello,

This is my second post of the day. I have a Cardinal FR CAF 362BHLE we bought used.

Please forgive my non-technical talk. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch.

The first time we went to a site they were installing new power units and when we connected, it blew all the light bulbs in the camper. It turns out they had wired 240 instead of 120. The TV, microwave, stereo, dvd player, fridge, and stove were all shot. I found the fuses for the fridge, stove, and stereo and replaced them. I havne't found a fuse for the TV or the microwave yet.

I found a copy of the owners manual online and it has more detail about the seatbelts and smoke detectors than it does anything useful.

The AirCon and heat work, but I have to recharge the battery every 4 days or everything dies. The fridge will not work on AC, it will only work on Gas. If I put it on auto, it picks AC but won't actually cool.

From everything I read, inverter? converter? I bought a brand new battery, charged it externally and same problem.

Old 06-16-2012, 03:27 AM   #2
Moderators' Assistant

first, the fridge and stereo are 12vDC and will have fuses.
the tv and microwave are 110vAC and will be on breakers.

not sure why your stove has a fuse. does it have electronic ignition? if so, it's probably also 12vDC.

as far as your battery, the trailer has parasitic drains that will empty a battery in about 4 days, if not plugged into shore power.
the charger part of your converter could be fried.

i hope the campground is covering your repair costs!

2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 07:21 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan
first, the fridge and stereo are 12vDC and will have fuses.
the tv and microwave are 110vAC and will be on breakers.