Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2012, 10:53 PM   #1

New user electrical questions

Hello,
In just over a month I'll be renting a 28' Xlite 2012 Wildwood. I've never used one before but very much looking forward to it. I'll be attending an astronomy camp in Central Oregon for 5 days. There will be no available 120v or water during the trip. There will be my wife and two boys joining me. I understand the trailer has a fridge, microwave, lights, water pump, tv and who knows what else. I noticed that it has a 140 amp hour battery.

The first and main question is: does the fridge operate from the 12V dc? If so, how long might that last on a full battery? We are fine without the tv and microwave but having water, lights and fridge would be nice.

I've been thinking about buying a 100w solar panel and charger but charging the battery from 50% to full could take days. I estimate we will have 9 hours a day of full sun. At least in the past we have. If the fridge uses a lot of dc amperage then I was thinking about buying a quiet 1600w (peak 2kw) generator for charging the battery. I can only use a generator at this sight for 5 hours a day.

Can anyone give some info on how power hungry the fridge, water pump and lights are?

Thanks for any feedback.

-Cable
Cablet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 11:19 PM   #2

Normally the fridge will only work on 120V AC or propane. The lights and water pump will work from the battery. TV and microwave will also only work on 120V AC. Water pump will pump from the fresh water tank so make sure you fill that up.
merlin66043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 11:36 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus