Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2015, 04:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
No 12 volt or hvac

Yesterday I took delivery of a NEW to ME 2011 Salem 36 bhbs.
I bought it used from a dealer that had it on consignment. On Saturday I picked it up and took it to the lake to set up. My wife made the comment that the lights did not seem bright enough but I was busy and did not think anything about it.
Well this morning we went back to finish cleaning and had no ceiling lights or HVAC ! All the wall outlets work but no 12 volt lights. I had a new battery installed when I bought it and when I checked it, it was dead. When I hooked up my battery jump box the light work and so does the HVAC.
I checked all the fuses and breakers and everything is good. Also checked the 50 amp plug outside with a meter and it is good.
I am quessing that the converter is the issue but have read that there maybe an inline fuse.
Any and all ideas are needed.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Bamamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 04:26 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,549
Check for a battery disconnect switch, If you have one, make sure it is on. There should be a large fuse on the convertor check that as well.
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 04:46 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamamax View Post
Yesterday I took delivery of a NEW to ME 2011 Salem 36 bhbs.
I bought it used from a dealer that had it on consignment. On Saturday I picked it up and took it to the lake to set up. My wife made the comment that the lights did not seem bright enough but I was busy and did not think anything about it.
Well this morning we went back to finish cleaning and had no ceiling lights or HVAC ! All the wall outlets work but no 12 volt lights. I had a new battery installed when I bought it and when I checked it, it was dead. When I hooked up my battery jump box the light work and so does the HVAC.
I checked all the fuses and breakers and everything is good. Also checked the 50 amp plug outside with a meter and it is good.
I am quessing that the converter is the issue but have read that there maybe an inline fuse.
Any and all ideas are needed.

Thanks
Another common occurrence in battery replacement, is to hook the wires up backwards (even for an instance).....thus instantly blowing the reverse polarity fuses to the converter. This happens a lot. The reason for the reverse polarity fuses is to keep from damaging the converter.

I would advise looking up your converter model and seeing if the reverse polarity fuse(s) are on the converter or on the control panel.

If the converter isn't working (or you have no DC power once the battery is drained), then you also won't have AC/Furnace since the thermostat is 12 volt DC to control these. The converter is also what provides 12 volt power, as well as recharges your battery when hooked to 120 volt shore power.

Page 3 of the following link may help explain it better:

http://www.primetimerv.com/download/...atorManual.pdf

If they are on the main panel as in the pic below, it will probably be the two bigger amp fuses (40 amp) to the left of the others, as shown in the pic (which you can read above the fuse that states it's a reverse polarity)

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 08:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Foothills of Southern Alberta
Posts: 797
If you connected the jump box to the battery terminals and the lights worked then the battery disconnect is not disconnected. Plug your unit into shore power and check for 13+ volts at the battery terminals. If the 40 amp fuses are ok and no voltage at the battery terminals then your converter is no good.
__________________

2007 Surveyor SV230
- 200 Watts Solar/MPPT Controller - 230 AH Battery Bank - 600 watt PSW Inverter - (2) 2000 watt Inverter Generators - LED Lighting - Boon Docking 99% of the time.
2009 F150 - 5.4 Litre - Tow Package
boondocking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 10:03 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
My converter is not the same as the one pictured. My has the breakers (about 10 including 1 double 50 am MAIN) across the top and a row of 12volt fuses in a vertical line on the left. It DOES NOT have the 40 amp fuses shown here. Could the 40 amps be somewhere else?

Boon-- I had already tested the battery as you said and got a reading of like .5 on the battery with the power connected and then after I left the jump box on for a few mins I got a reading of about 10 volts.

Somewhere else I read that there is a inline fuse in from the battery on the frame that may need to be reset.
I will check all of this in the next few days...

Thanks
__________________
Bamamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 10:09 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamamax View Post
My converter is not the same as the one pictured. My has the breakers (about 10 including 1 double 50 am MAIN) across the top and a row of 12volt fuses in a vertical line on the left. It DOES NOT have the 40 amp fuses shown here. Could the 40 amps be somewhere else?
Some may be on the converter itself. The pic is not of the converter. And the reverse polarity fuses may not just 40 amp, as it will depend on the make/model of your particular converter.

Are there air louvers/holes underneath or beside the electrical panel? The converter is most likely behind them, which will require you to remove the faceplate.

A pic would sure help before you go to this trouble.

Here is another pic of a different panel and the reverse polarity fuses are on bottom right as you can read from the label on the panel door.

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 10:42 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
I do not "think" mine has the air vents on it.
BUT I am not really sure since I have only had it 2 days now.
I will look at it (and take pic) tomorrow.
IF it does not have the air vents any idea where it would be located?
My wife did look under the trailer and said that there IS a larger box(about 6"x6") mounted to the frame behind and under the camper aft of the battery with the power cables going into and out of it.
__________________
Bamamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 10:50 PM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
OK, we probably need to table the troubleshooting tips to keep from confusing the issue, till you post some pics. Most likely, it will also tell what converter(s) make/model you have inside the power distribution box...as you can read it in both pics posted.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:57 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
I took pics tonight and I looked for the inline fuse. No luck on an inline fuse or a reset switch. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1423619717.911643.jpg
Views:	680
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	69463Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1423619747.454132.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	69464Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1423619777.450940.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	63.4 KB
ID:	69465Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1423619793.842034.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	69466
I have more pics I can add if needed.
So PLEASE tell me what I missed.
__________________
Bamamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 09:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 137
Though not familiar with your trailer, looking at that panel, your converter is going to be separate and mounted elsewhere in the trailer

Some units, like pictured above with the vents, have the converter built into the fuse/breaker/power distribution panel.

might be easiest to chase the wiring from your battery back to find the converter, should be a fairly heavy gauge wire depending on the converter (6gauge or larger). the converter itself would have its own fuse(s) for the 12v side. i see the breaker for the 120v side on your distribution panel is on, but double check that the converter is receiving power and its not just a faulty breaker.

Another fun thought, does the A/C run (when you boost power to the battery so they HVAC controls have power) and the GFI plugs have power? as youve likely found out already, or already know, its a split-leg system, if your plugged into a 120v plug, not a 240v plug (or a FUBAR 240v plug), its possible to only power 1 leg of the panel (if your adapters or cord are FUBAR) and everything on the left side of the panel can have power while the right hand side has nothing.
__________________

__________________
'14 XLR 395AMP
'16 Ram 3500 DRW, 6.7 cummins w/aisin trans and 4.10 gears
ykdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.