Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2015, 05:41 PM   #11
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailerdog View Post
I don't know where the converter is located on my camper. I will contact my electrician to see how he hooked it up.
Does your RV's power cord have 4 prongs on the end of it, or only three?
I would assume your RV is a 30 amp variety, but want to confirm.

Can you tell us, what exactly you are plugged into?

Can you, or are comfortable with using an electrical multimeter?
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 06:21 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Following
__________________

__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 12:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
There are a few things that can prevent you from getting 12 volt power through out the RV. The most common would be the main fuse blown. Have you checked all the fuses in the converter?

It would also be helpful if you could tell us the make of the converter.
Often there is also an inline fuse with-in a couple of feet of the battery. It could be blown causing everything to be dead.

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 01:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 107
Something similar happened to me. All my 120 v appliances were working, none of the 12 v items were working.

I checked all the fuses. They were all good.

I went to a CW and they found that I had pinched the umbilical cord and shorted out the 30 amp Main fuse located under the front of the trailer. The battery was fully charged via my SUV.

Just a thought.
__________________
johng4706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 01:52 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by johng4706 View Post
Something similar happened to me. All my 120 v appliances were working, none of the 12 v items were working.

I checked all the fuses. They were all good.

I went to a CW and they found that I had pinched the umbilical cord and shorted out the 30 amp Main fuse located under the front of the trailer. The battery was fully charged via my SUV.

Just a thought.
That is the fuse I mentioned above. It is often overlooked, many may not even know it is there.

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 01:57 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I have never seen or heard of a main fuse at the battery. Anyone know if this is relevant on a Berkshire?
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 02:00 PM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
"IF" the converter is working properly then this fuse being talked about is irrelevant regardless of good, bad or non existent battery.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 02:04 PM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
There are soooooooo many unknowns with this thread it's pointless to comment until op can provide more info.

1) does it have a microwave, and does it work?

2) does it have a tv, and does it work?

3) has the converter circuit breaker been checked?

4) is the converter working, and putting out voltage?

5) was the shore power pedestal wired for 220?

6) 30 or 50 amp service?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 02:54 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 12
1) does it have a microwave, and does it work? Not working

2) does it have a tv, and does it work? No TV installed

3) has the converter circuit breaker been checked? Don't know location of converter

4) is the converter working, and putting out voltage? Unable to check at this time

5) was the shore power pedestal wired for 220? The electrician wired it 220 by mistake, I put meter on it today and it showed 240 volts from rectp

6) 30 or 50 amp service? It is 30 amp service.
__________________
trailerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 03:01 PM   #20
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 4,983
Sorry... deleted... mis-read you have a 30 amp service.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.