Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2015, 07:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
No power in most outlets

I turned the bedroom TV on this morning and 10 seconds later it went off. I noticed my laptop power light also went off. The laptop was plugged into a different outlet below the TV. I went into the bathroom and checked the GFCI outlet and it was tripped, but would't reset. I checked other outlets and noticed that 3 slave GFCI outlets in the kitchen were dead; 2 den outlets dead; ceiling fan in den is dead; outside GFCI slave dead; storage GFCI slave dead. I have another master GFCI outlet in the kitchen, which has no load, and it works.

This is a mystery as this rig is only 2 months old. It's a 2015 Cedar Creek 38RD 50 amp rig. I haven't had any problems until now. I called the dealer and spoke to a tech, who suggested that I trace the wires--really!

I pulled the GFCI outlet out of the bathroom and checked for power--none. No power coming to the plug. I checked the breakers and all were good. I checked the power on the breakers and all had power. I pulled two breakers for the outlets and checked the lines and all good and secure. I turned all breakers off and unplugged from the power pole. Reconnected and turned breakers back on and nothing changed. I looked through the access port to the rear of the breaker area and observed no junction boxes or loose wires.

I can't figure this out. Does anyone have a suggestion for a fix. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Sciatore12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 07:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mojojojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 361
Not sure of the floor plan but or bunkhouse has 2 GFCI plugs one in the second bathroom, may have one outside or in an under compartment?
__________________

__________________
My wife keeps saying I don't listen to her -Or something like that?...."My advice has no basis ,more reliable them my own meandering experience" Baz Luhrmann
2011 Sierra 355QBQ 1986 F350
Mojojojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:01 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
I've searched for an additional GFCI outlet and cannot find one. Just the one in the bathroom, which is not getting power, and the one in the kitchen, which is not feeding any other outlets and is working.
__________________
Sciatore12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:04 PM   #4
Site Team
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 10,373
check your fuses.
__________________
<a href=http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mojojojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sciatore12 View Post
I've searched for an additional GFCI outlet and cannot find one. Just the one in the bathroom, which is not getting power, and the one in the kitchen, which is not feeding any other outlets and is working.
The kitchen GFCI may feed the other as a threw switch if either of ours pop they both go dead. Could be a bad switch?
__________________
My wife keeps saying I don't listen to her -Or something like that?...."My advice has no basis ,more reliable them my own meandering experience" Baz Luhrmann
2011 Sierra 355QBQ 1986 F350
Mojojojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:06 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
all fuses look good, but I thought they only were for 12 volt.
__________________
Sciatore12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:09 PM   #7
Site Team
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 10,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sciatore12 View Post
all fuses look good, but I thought they only were for 12 volt.
In our old tt we hooked the battery up back once. We blew 3 fuses. When that happened, we had power to some outlets and not others when plugged in to shore power. At first glance we thought all fuses looked ok but a second closer look comparing one fuse to another showed us the blown fuses.
__________________
<a href=http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rrickim63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 487
Have you tried flipping all breakers on and off, just in case one has tripped and you didn't see it moved?
__________________
2006 Roo 23B hybrid

2006 Ford F150 4.6L
Rrickim63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:44 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Yes, I have flipped all breakers and checked all fuses. All were ok.
__________________
Sciatore12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sciatore12 View Post
I turned the bedroom TV on this morning and 10 seconds later it went off. I noticed my laptop power light also went off. The laptop was plugged into a different outlet below the TV. I went into the bathroom and checked the GFCI outlet and it was tripped, but would't reset. I checked other outlets and noticed that 3 slave GFCI outlets in the kitchen were dead; 2 den outlets dead; ceiling fan in den is dead; outside GFCI slave dead; storage GFCI slave dead. I have another master GFCI outlet in the kitchen, which has no load, and it works.

This is a mystery as this rig is only 2 months old. It's a 2015 Cedar Creek 38RD 50 amp rig. I haven't had any problems until now. I called the dealer and spoke to a tech, who suggested that I trace the wires--really!

I pulled the GFCI outlet out of the bathroom and checked for power--none. No power coming to the plug. I checked the breakers and all were good. I checked the power on the breakers and all had power. I pulled two breakers for the outlets and checked the lines and all good and secure. I turned all breakers off and unplugged from the power pole. Reconnected and turned breakers back on and nothing changed. I looked through the access port to the rear of the breaker area and observed no junction boxes or loose wires.

I can't figure this out. Does anyone have a suggestion for a fix. Thanks in advance.
Two months old and everything running good, why assume problem is in trailer. Could you have lost a leg coming in from the campground? Have you a multimeter you could check source power source with? If no do you have enough cord to reach another power plug? I neighbors that you know works. If running through a pigtail remove it. Seems like to much is out to be a trailer problem. May also want to check your main breaker. Should be a two pole. Be careful with hot lines.
__________________

__________________
silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.