Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2018, 04:17 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 17
Outlets and tv are dead

I have a Sierra 372LOK and my outlets and TVs wonít work. And no microwave. Lights work. Built in stereo works. I can find 2 GFCI outlets (bathroom and outdoor kitchen) that have a reset button and have reset both several times. Iíve checked all breakers and fuses. Any other ideas? Thanks,
__________________

OsageCityKamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:24 PM   #2
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 1,296
r u plugged into shore power?
did it’s breaker trip?

GFCI circuits won’t reset without power

did your shore cord come loose from the trailer?
__________________

formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:30 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8,171
Lights and Stereo are 12V operated devices so they are operating from your battery. The other items require 120VAC shore power from pedestal or a generator. Need a little more info.
Are you connected to shore power?
Are both plugs inserted well?
Do you have an EMS in line?
Is the breaker at the pedestal on?
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Baraboo, WI
Posts: 86
Lights and stereo are both 12 volts and run off of the battery. Everything else you listed is run by shore power.
BarabooBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 55
If you have an inverter, check that ...It might need to be reset. Mine has a switch that needed reset. Had all the same symptoms you are having.
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:36 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 17
I am not. I leave my trailer in the country. Batteries are shot and instead of dragging out the gene I just hooked up to my truck battery since I’m only here for an hour or so. I wondered if I needed the gene to get enough power. Maybe that’s it?
OsageCityKamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:38 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 17
Sounds like I don’t really have a problem, just need to hook up the gene instead of my truck battery!! Thanks for all the help guys.
OsageCityKamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:39 PM   #8
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 1,296
if youre on the Inverter, then it probably drew down the batteries low enough that it cut ‘out’ to save them - they are designed that way - when the batteries are back to 12.0 volts, it will probably come back on
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 200w/10amps mobile SOLAR
85,000+mi, US, Alaska, Canada, western NC for now : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:51 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8,171
Thank you additional info helps. Not sure how you have the Truck battery connected, but most likely the voltage the inverter is seeing is below the min for it to operate. If you need 120VAC, you are going to need to connect the battery. Also if you plan to leave the battery in for a while, you will need to fully charge it and then it or the parasitic currents will kill it in a few weeks.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:54 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 17
While I have y’all, since my batteries are shot I am planning to replace them. I have 2 12 volt batteries. Everything I read says 6 volt batteries are better. If I make that switch, do I need 2 or 4 6 volt batteries to replace the 2 12 volt batteries?
__________________

OsageCityKamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.