Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2012, 07:54 AM   #1

Plugged Into 110 @ Home

I recently purchased a 2006 Surveyor SV264 and I have no RV experience so my question is should I keep my RV plugged into my home's 110 volt, 15 amp circuit when parked in my driveway. Is there any harm or benefit in leaving it plugged in other than running a charge to my battery? I had thought about leaving a small 110 volt (probably 1500 watt) space heater inside of the camper set at about 50 degrees during its non-use during the winter months but I'm not sure about what precautions I need to take as far as length of power cord and wire size going to camper. From what I've read on this forum I assume if I leave it unplugged during the winter I need to remove cables from battery so as not to drain it down. What is the norm for winter storage?
Stingingfork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:21 AM   #2

Congratulations on your new RV and welcome to the wonderful world of RVing. Lots of threads on winterization in this forum. Do you search and then you can spend the rest of your day reading. You will get your answer.
2019 FR Vibe 28RL
Rugged Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:43 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingingfork View Post