Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2012, 12:55 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Plugged my 30 amp into 220 VAC - help

Did I damage the wfco 8900 converter after plugging it into a 240 30 amp outlet? When I plugged it in, the outlet sparked and I heard a pop inside where the converter is. I reset all breakers and now When I plug into the 110 outlet on the other side of the house (where I used to plug into to charge batteries) the lights are dim (battery very low) and no hum from the converter.
__________________

__________________
frankcarpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 54
Ouch. More than likely it is toast. With some luck from the electrical gods your microwave might still be good and other things that were plugged in. Good luck, you are going to need it.
__________________

__________________
RedRollingRoadblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 01:42 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Not uncommon for this to happen to those unwise to rv power which is only 110v
Things u may have ruined including converter.
Microwave
Radio/entertainment center
Tv's
Fridge

You need to check all fuses and circuit breaker with a volt meter.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankcarpi View Post
Did I damage the wfco 8900 converter after plugging it into a 240 30 amp outlet? When I plugged it in, the outlet sparked and I heard a pop inside where the converter is. I reset all breakers and now When I plug into the 110 outlet on the other side of the house (where I used to plug into to charge batteries) the lights are dim (battery very low) and no hum from the converter.
How is that even possible ? 240 Vac outlets use a completely different receptacle layout than a 110Vac outlet .

...VTX-Al
__________________
VTX Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 05:58 PM   #5
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTX Al View Post
How is that even possible ? 240 Vac outlets use a completely different receptacle layout than a 110Vac outlet . l
That's a very good question, the answer to which I'd like to hear!

Pop
__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringerPop View Post
That's a very good question, the answer to which I'd like to hear! Pop
RV Electric click the 30 amp Service link on the upper left.
__________________
RedRollingRoadblock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:52 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
I'm guessing the op or his "electrician"
Wired it with out the knowledge of what they were doing.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.