Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2015, 03:34 PM   #11
Georgia Frog Rally 2018
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 10,672
If your going to do it do it right. I had my electrician install 20 amp breaker than he ran a wire to a junction box to side of house and wired in the 30amp connector so now I just take my 50amp/30amp and plug in. You only need to run one air any way. Later RJD
__________________

__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2016 58
Days camped so far 2017 62
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 03:41 PM   #12
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
Should I use my surge protector for this?
We can have a long talk about this at the rally.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 03:57 PM   #13
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
I have a 50 amp trailer. My house has normal house outlets outside. Read not wired for the trailer and not a dryer outlet either. Can I plug into a 50/30 amp adapter and then to a 30/15 amp adapter and plug directly into a regular house outlet to run fridge and charge the battery? If yes can I run one of my air conditioners ( I have a 15 btu and a 13 btu a.c.)? If no,how can I plug into house? I have a battery charger but wanted to look at other ideas. Thanks
As mentioned, yes you can.

As for A/C, I used a heavy duty extension cord. It's 50' and costed something like $50-75 from Home Depot. I run my A/C as long as it is the only thing running. Even with my surge protector, it didn't give me low voltage or any warnings doing it.

I personally would ALWAYS use a surge protector if I had one. In fact, that's why I put a hard-wired one in.
__________________
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 04:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 483
You can run your charger and fridge on a 15amp circuit. you have to be sure your hot water heater doesn't come on or you might trip the GFI if you have one.


But at home depot:


50 amp outlet $28.00
50 amp breaker $10.00
#6 Wire $0.90 per foot
Piece of mind...Pricele$$


and you can run both AC's the Fridge, the charger, and will not need any adaptors
__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-2017 Days Camped-215
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 04:37 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 306
I just use direct 50 amp to 110 adapter. Works fine no 50 to 30 to 110
But like others say for fridge and charging
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 06:00 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 573
We had an electrician come and do several things to the house for us and one of those was to put a 50AMP plug out by the trailer and we love it.

We on occasion have house guests who stay in the trailer and it sure makes it simple.
__________________

__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.