Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2013, 07:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
plugging into house electric

just got home from camping and tried plugging the camper into 110volt but it trips the GFI receptacle in my garage. I have went to a receptacle that is on a 20 amp breaker by itself. I have also turned all the breakers off in the camper and turned them on one by one and as soon as i turn on the GFI/converter breaker it trips the breaker in the garage. If I turn the main breaker and the air conditioner breaker its ok until i try to turn the fan on, then it trips. Its a 2012 Rockwood Signature Ultralite Model 8317RKSS. any suggestions
__________________

__________________
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Broadway Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 636
You can not have two GFI items in a single circuit, they fight each other. If you have a GFI protected circuit in the garage, the one installed in the bath or galley area in your camper will cause this problem.
__________________

__________________
Broadway Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,528
Also the 20 AMP breaker can't take much more than the AC starting an other appliance before tripping that's the reason the camper is 30 Amp or 50 Amp
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2013 Puma Unleashed 356 QLB
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Sadie & Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxers
Oaklevel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 10:26 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
I have had camper plugged into garage receptacles n past and able to run everything. I was only trying to run fan on the ac unit and not the ac itself. The fan only draws minimal amps. With all the breakers off except the main and the ac. As soon as I turn the fan switch on, it trips
__________________
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:00 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
outdoor cooker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Actually the camper was plugged n all winter no problems
__________________
outdoor cooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:52 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by outdoor cooker View Post
I have had camper plugged into garage receptacles n past and able to run everything. I was only trying to run fan on the ac unit and not the ac itself. The fan only draws minimal amps. With all the breakers off except the main and the ac. As soon as I turn the fan switch on, it trips
The GFI trips if there is anything wrong in the circuit. It could be things like an appliance getting wet and sending small amounts power to the ground.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:38 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,157
If you are running the RV's Air Conditioner, you are very close to the maximum current that can be provided; especially if you are using an extension cord of any kind to get to the camper.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:48 AM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
You state that the garage breaker is the one tripping. What all else do you have running on the circuit in the garage that supplies power to the outlet?

Have you bought a freezer or anything else that is now using that circuit...... especially a window unit air-conditioner in the garage.

You could be close to overloading that circuit BEFORE you ever plug the trailer into an outlet there.....and thus the trailer is enough to trip the breaker.

Also, as Lou correctly pointed out, are you using any kind of extension cord from the trailer to the outlet? Your problem could easily lie there in the extension cord.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:55 AM   #9
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
If you are running the RV's Air Conditioner, you are very close to the maximum current that can be provided; especially if you are using an extension cord of any kind to get to the camper.
The OP said it was fan only on the AC, not the actual condenser...
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:04 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
If applicable. ....
How long is the ext. Cord?
What size is the ext. Cord?
Does it have the ground post missing?


Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.