Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2014, 04:23 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Guys, is this adapter all I would need for my setup? My TT is 30amp and my generator also has the 30 amp 120/240 4 prong outlet. Also the gen plug has a 120/240 toggle switch located next to the 4 prong plug in question and I'm guessing choosing 240 v would be a mistake, Or would it matter since the adapter would eliminate one leg of the 240 from entering my TT. My generator is 5550 continuous watt and 8500 watt start up rated, would that power a 15k AC? Sorry to hijack the thread and thanks in advance.
Yes you should be OK with this adapter but you will only have about 23 amps available to power your trailer as it is a 5550 continuous watts generator. It should power your 15K AC but will have to do load management not to overload circuit breaker on generator.
__________________

__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 04:30 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonzie View Post
Yes you should be OK with this adapter but you will only have about 23 amps available to power your trailer as it is a 5550 continuous watts generator. It should power your 15K AC but will have to do load management not to overload circuit breaker on generator.

Fonzie, I'm i wrong to assume my 15k ac will pull about 15 amps? Am I low in my estimate? What's the best way to gauge usage? I have a surge suppressor I could use with a digital display but I wonder if fluctuations in current by the generator might cause the suppressor to cut off electricity to the TT.
__________________

__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 05:20 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Your 15K AC unit will draw app. 15 amps running. On start up it might draw up to 30 amps but for a very short duration which with the rating of your generator should be able to handle it. It all depends on how much extra load is already being used eg: water heater, fridge, converter etc etc....I use a progressive industries EMS management and I can see directly how much is being used at any time. For your surge suppressor only you can test and see how it works with generator and TT load hook up. It's never a clear cut answer with electricity usage as a lot of factors have to be taken into account.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 05:36 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 258
If you don't own a circuit tester.. I would be worth it to pick one up... Been to a few campsites and was able to catch messed up 50amp plugs before any damage... One had a 240 leg... ( camp site maintenance guy said it was wired correctly one of his guys changed it a few days ago..had to take him to another site to show him) that would have been a costly mistake... And more than a few had one of the 120 legs dead....

So now before I level up...I get out and check the outlet...(grounds, neutrals and legs)
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 05:46 PM   #25
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedjester View Post
If you don't own a circuit tester.. I would be worth it to pick one up... Been to a few campsites and was able to catch messed up 50amp plugs before any damage... One had a 240 leg... ( camp site maintenance guy said it was wired correctly one of his guys changed it a few days ago..had to take him to another site to show him) that would have been a costly mistake... And more than a few had one of the 120 legs dead....

So now before I level up...I get out and check the outlet...(grounds, neutrals and legs)
SAY IT LOUD, BROTHER!!!!!!!!

This excellent advice above cannot be repeated enough until we all practice this. If you don't have any kind of electrical management system that will automatically shut down power if something is wrong.....then you must make it part of the camping ritual to test the outlets EVERY time before you connect.

If you don't know how, or may even want to make a plug n play tester....then you can gain that wisdom from this site:

http://www.myrv.us/electric/
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 07:12 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 306
After reading everything here.
So A 50 amp rv needs a generator adapter 50 to 30 amp .But cannot use a dog bone adapter and a 30 amp cord too!!
Just making sure when the time comes I will set if needed
Generac 6500 watt generator.And 8500 start up

Since we on this thread already .
Thanks
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:50 AM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
SAY IT LOUD, BROTHER!!!!!!!!

This excellent advice above cannot be repeated enough until we all practice this. If you don't have any kind of electrical management system that will automatically shut down power if something is wrong.....then you must make it part of the camping ritual to test the outlets EVERY time before you connect.

If you don't know how, or may even want to make a plug n play tester....then you can gain that wisdom from this site:

RV Electric

Wmtire..

Thank you for such a helpful and informative Link .. There is so much information to be learned on that website and videos .. I and the wife are fairly new to Rving .. less then a years exp. Nobody .. from both dealers of which we purchased units from included that information during delivery.. And from all the friends and 4 locations we currently camp at this topic of checking the Electrical hook up prior to using has never been brought up nor have I witnessed anyone doing.. A definite new procedure for us prior to setup ... Thanks again
__________________
Vonner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 10:02 AM   #28
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,047
You're very welcome. As speedjester pointed out, you really do not know what has happened at ANY outlet previous to you plugging in. You never know what the previous camper, electrician, or park person may have done before you..........or shorted out.

Also as with anything electrical or mechanical, things just break or wear out.

I would advise even checking your own generator before plugging in, as things can become loose/disconnected from the vibrations when running.

You may be lucky and never encounter a problem...........but it's that one time you do catch a problem that makes you glad you did check first. There are actually many posts in these forums just like speedjesters, so it's more common than one may think.

You can also purchase either hardwired or portable Electrical Management Systems (EMS) that will do a lot of this checking automatically for you.....as well as having a surge protector.

Here is a link to a 50 amp hard wired one.

http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_hw50c.htm

A surge protector is another good item to have...... which you can purchase as a cheaper standalone item, or built into an EMS.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 11:58 AM   #29
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Ok I have to put my 2 cents in this thread.

If any of these generators have the 240/120 30 amp four female outlet you will NOT have 30 amps available!

The 240/120 outlet has a floating neutral and has a max amps of 30 on the "240v" side which you will not be using.
Since you've dog boned it down you'll be using the "120v" portion of this outlet and MAX amps will be cut in half to 15 amps.

Been there done that!

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 12:04 PM   #30
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
To slightly edit my above post you'll have 15 amps on each leg available.
For a total of 30 and from my experience 15 amps on each leg will be absolutely marginal.
More like 12-13 amps.



Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.