Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2014, 03:46 PM   #31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 16
Ok... now for an update .. Using the 4 prong to 50 .. I had no issue running my AC 15k .. I also turned on all lights one tv ( smaller one in the Bedroom) .. but when I tried to run the microwave .. Boom all shut down.. I checked fuse box ( circuit panel) and nothing popped .. Checked the Generator and the Breaker again popped ..

Now I have another concern .. Upon starting the generator again and walking into the trailer I noticed a Green light blinking on the circuit panel .. I do not recall this green light blinking .. Is this normal.. I checked everything and nothing seems wrong all lights AC, tv etc turns back onl.. I tried to read the microscopic wording around the light.. But these eyes aren't what they used to be.. Checked my manual as well as online.. Cant find anything on what this green light represents ..
__________________

__________________
Vonner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 05:53 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrlyguy2 View Post
After reading everything here.
So A 50 amp rv needs a generator adapter 50 to 30 amp .But cannot use a dog bone adapter and a 30 amp cord too!!
Just making sure when the time comes I will set if needed
Generac 6500 watt generator.And 8500 start up

Since we on this thread already .
Thanks
It is best to have the proper adapter if you want to have double the current available from your generator if it has 120/240 30 amps receptacle. With your 6500 watt generator(dual voltage), you should be able to have 27 amps per line (total 54 amps) to feed your 50 amp RV plug. If you use a dog bone 30 to 50 RV adapter as shown in this thread, then you will only have 27 amps total available to feed your 50 amp RV plug.

Here is good site that explains RV electrical.

RV Electrical Systems
__________________

__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 05:58 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
To slightly edit my above post you'll have 15 amps on each leg available.
For a total of 30 and from my experience 15 amps on each leg will be absolutely marginal.
More like 12-13 amps.



Turbs

Turbs what you mention here is correct if the OP had a 3600 watt dual voltage (120/240 volts) generator with a 30 amp receptacle. Since he has a 5550 watt generator, my post #7 is correct in this instance.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 06:06 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonner View Post
Ok... now for an update .. Using the 4 prong to 50 .. I had no issue running my AC 15k .. I also turned on all lights one tv ( smaller one in the Bedroom) .. but when I tried to run the microwave .. Boom all shut down.. I checked fuse box ( circuit panel) and nothing popped .. Checked the Generator and the Breaker again popped ..

Now I have another concern .. Upon starting the generator again and walking into the trailer I noticed a Green light blinking on the circuit panel .. I do not recall this green light blinking .. Is this normal.. I checked everything and nothing seems wrong all lights AC, tv etc turns back onl.. I tried to read the microscopic wording around the light.. But these eyes aren't what they used to be.. Checked my manual as well as online.. Cant find anything on what this green light represents ..
As I mentioned in post #21, you have to manage your load. Depending how your appliances are connected into your ac distribtiton panel, either on L1 or L2, you can overload the circuit on that particular line and trip the main circuit breaker on the generator. Remember you only have 23 amps per line and not 50 as if you were hooked up to a power post at a campground.

For your green light, check this tread.....

Little blinking light on breaker panel
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:14 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
hrlyguy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N.W. Illinois
Posts: 306
Asked the company Generac about it.
this is what I recieved.


Thank you for contacting Generac Power Systems. My name is Sara and I will be assisting you*today. At this time we do not manufacture an RV adapter for the generator. Also, to get the full output of the generator, you will have to use all outlets. If you have any other questions please let us know. Again thank you for contacting Generac and have a great day!

*
__________________
2007.5 Chevy 3500Ltz cc lb Duramax
2010 Sandpiper 345 RET (SOLD)
hrlyguy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 08:44 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrlyguy2 View Post
Asked the company Generac about it.
this is what I recieved.


Thank you for contacting Generac Power Systems. My name is Sara and I will be assisting you*today. At this time we do not manufacture an RV adapter for the generator. Also, to get the full output of the generator, you will have to use all outlets. If you have any other questions please let us know. Again thank you for contacting Generac and have a great day!

*
Not much information here....more like bla bla bla........
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 09:38 PM   #37
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Is this a gp series generac that we are speaking of?

Because the op clearly states he is using the 4 prong 240/120 plug in.
Which is the dual outlet.


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 09:24 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Anyone see a problem with me running my 5500/8500 generator in the back of my truck in case of bad weather (rain). I will open the tailgate and all three windows to allow for ventilation/cooling. I also plan to park the truck downwind and at a distance from the TT. This will also prevent me from having to unload the 170 pounder.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1413465870.104814.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	823.5 KB
ID:	64830
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 09:28 AM   #39
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Anyone see a problem with me running my 5500/8500 generator in the back of my truck in case of bad weather (rain). I will open the tailgate and all three windows to allow for ventilation/cooling. I also plan to park the truck downwind and at a distance from the TT. This will also prevent me from having to unload the 170 pounder.
Attachment 64830
I would if I had a topper.

Albeit we have dry camped with gennie running in a full downpour.

They do get hot so ventilation is key especially since there air cooled.
Check on it occasionally when first starting.

Only thing I'd be concerned about is a fuel leak and subsequent explosion!



Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 09:38 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Good point Turbs. I guess I'll only leave in the back of truck if the weather turns to rain, otherwise it will stay on the ground. I'm also hoping for cool weather so there should not be a need to run generator to power the ac. Although there's no way to know whether it will be in the 40's or 90's in November in Texas.
__________________

__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.