Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2012, 11:37 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Power Trailer 100' Away From Box

I own a lot at a campground. Our trailer stays down there permanently. We had been using several 30-amp extension cords to power it (all borrowed). I need about 100 feet of cord to get to the trailer. I looked up how much this would cost for a extension cord and it is rather expensive. I have a buddy that is an electrician and he can get the right wire all I need to do is add the male and female plugs. Has anyone ever done this before? Any Insight or suggestions?
__________________

__________________
wilderness503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:41 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilderness503
I own a lot at a campground. Our trailer stays down there permanently. We had been using several 30-amp extension cords to power it (all borrowed). I need about 100 feet of cord to get to the trailer. I looked up how much this would cost for a extension cord and it is rather expensive. I have a buddy that is an electrician and he can get the right wire all I need to do is add the male and female plugs. Has anyone ever done this before? Any Insight or suggestions?
I'd be very very careful going one hundred feet!
I think if you pm herk7769 he has a chart for cord lengths and size of wire for the amps you need.

I hate to say it but your going to have to spend some cash to do it right. Do not skimp here it will only cost you more down the road!
Jmo.
Ron
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Is 100' dangerous?
__________________
wilderness503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 12:07 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilderness503
Is 100' dangerous?
Only if you don't use the appropriate sized cord for the length of run and amps being used.

Low voltage and heat will be an issue if the cord isn't big enough to handle the amps.

In turn you'll have low voltage to your trailer and could very well ha rm your electronics such as.
A/c
T.v.
Microwave
Converter
Fridge
Hw heater

Ron
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:08 PM   #5
Now a "Top Member"
 
EdJunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Roman Forest, TX
Posts: 1,367
I used a put together system that went well over 100', but it was only for a couple of days and we didn't really use much actual electricity. We were able to run our AC and radio and a couple of other outlets (phone charging and such). But it was not extensive use by any means. I sure wouldn't do something like that for a long term thing.
__________________
Ed and Sharon
2010 Wildcat 28RKBS
2011 Ford F-250 XLT, 6.7L PSD
Ride-Rite Airbags and Airlift wireless remote compressor...nice!

I thought I was wrong once, but I was wrong!
EdJunior is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:14 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
With the proper size wire, you shouldn't have any trouble. If you own the lot, I would trench a new post closer to where you park. Using underground wire will be much cheaper than buying an extension cord.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 313
10 gauge copper would be normal 30 amp wire. You would want to run an 8 gauge copper wire. This would give you a tolerable 3.8% voltage drop for 100' of wire @30 amps.
__________________
~Andrew
99 F250 Super Cab Short Bed 7.3 Powerstroke
84 24' Yellowstone Camino (oldie)

http://rvpdi.com
Acableguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 02:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Coops1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 358
Question... If you have an electrician friend why are you asking this here?

I would like to know if your plugging in at or near the panel or into a 30A outlet? If its the 30A outlet how far away is the panel from it? Tolerable voltage drop is 5% on any run.

If I owned the place I would install 4/6 to a pedestal with a 50/30/20A set up, if the campsite would allow this... think of it as a investment.
__________________
26WRB - V-Lite
Denali HD LML
Coops1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 02:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
I do own the land. There is a breaker box at the front of the property with a 30 amp outlet. We had a trailer there before and it was hardwired into the breaker box. The old trailer was in the same location as the new one which is about 100' away from the box. We never had an issue with the way it was before but I did not hook it up so I'm not sure how they did it. The wire that was there has been removed because I had the land cleared, the old trailer was a complete mess, and the electrical wire was taken away. I posted the question here because I thought you guys would have more experience with this sort of thing then my friend who does not own a trailer. Since it is a permanent location I wanted to bury the wire. My idea was to have a line coming from the original breaker box to a dedicated outlet near the trailer then use the trailer’s 30 amp cord to plug into the new outlet.
__________________
wilderness503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 03:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilderness503 View Post
I do own the land. Since it is a permanent location I wanted to bury the wire. My idea was to have a line coming from the original breaker box to a dedicated outlet near the trailer then use the trailer’s 30 amp cord to plug into the new outlet.
This would be the best bet!

I would run a 6/3 w/ground wire min. as suggested then and do it right with a 50/30/20 amp hook up. If this is too expensive, running a 8/2 w/ground would work, if you can swing a few extra bucks go with a 6/2 w/ground to reduce voltage drop even more.
__________________

__________________
~Andrew
99 F250 Super Cab Short Bed 7.3 Powerstroke
84 24' Yellowstone Camino (oldie)

http://rvpdi.com
Acableguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.