Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2015, 02:14 PM   #21
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuicideSaints View Post
It could be the Genny is not up to the task or you need a "Ground-Neutral Bond” jumper plug (edison plug).
Falling on def ears...
__________________

__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 02:16 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Napa Valley, CA
Posts: 413
My Honda 2000 runs with the EMS 30 hardwired just fine. Voltage is always between 116-124 depending on load. If I want to run the 15K A/C, I parallel two Honda 2000s together with good results. As you mentioned, I had to make a ground to neutral connector for the Honda in order for the EMS to play well with the Hondas.

Alternatively, you can switch off the EMS power management and just make it a surge protector via the remote switch (not recommended). This supplies power to your converter without the need for a ground/neutral adapter on the genny.

I suspect that your genny is dropping voltage on load and the EMS is doing its job.
__________________

__________________
2015 Rockwood A128S
2010 Rockwood 2604
2014 Ford F-250 CC SB 2WD
2008 Toyota Sequoia 2WD
Big Vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 02:19 PM   #23
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceinspp View Post
Honda does not recommend running an AC with the 2000. Good way to ruin AC. Later RJD
How many amps do you think a 13,500 a/c draws? 12...
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 02:36 PM   #24
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
Think it's 12 to 14 on start up and 8 or so just running. I can do it in one honda 2000 with the hard start capacitor and nothing else on. Once I try the thing with the converter or fridge it overloads.

Not sure about the generac but the 2000 on the Honda is a surge wattage.

The ac will trip it if I kept the economy throttle on, maybe try running your stuff with the economy throttle off if you have it and see if it keeps the voltage.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 02:57 PM   #25
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Just plugged one Honda in....not using eco. I have a 3 amp draw before starting gen...refer is on....Running, adding a/c, shows 16 amps....no problem running....when camping, I use both.
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 03:34 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
MrNiceGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 231
I had a similar problem and called Progressive. Their customer service is outstanding! I believe your problem is the need for a neurtral ground bond on the inverter/generator. Without going into great detail it is a plug that allows you to use your inverter/generator with a Progressive EMS. Progressive will give you instructions.
__________________
2015 Crusader 315RST
2011 Silverado 2500HD
MrNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 04:04 PM   #27
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Get a normal 15/20 120 3prong plug...looking at prong end of plug, add a 14or16 gauge wire from ground terminal to prong on left side....of course, do this on inside of plug. plug into gen...done.
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 04:20 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Gregg Willow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 254
This site will explain the N-G Bond plug and how to make it...

Generator Ground-Neutral Bonding | No~Shock~Zone
__________________
2016 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab XLT EcoBoost
2012 Salem Cruise Lite 221RBXL, Andersen No Sway WDH, (2) Honda EU2000i's
Gregg Willow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 05:30 PM   #29
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
What I just posted
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 06:09 PM   #30
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Dometic recommends at least a 3500 watt generator.
It's right in there owners manual

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "27 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.