Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 09:59 PM   #31
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by MillerTime View Post
If you put in a 50 amp plug- it's pretty much idiot proof in my opinion. Its the 30 amp 3 prong plugs that most don't understand- since old style 3prongs, like herks dryer were 220, most just assume its a common/ground and 2 positives
Too true. But without a neutral a 50 amp socket is heartbreak waiting to happen.
__________________

__________________
Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:05 PM   #32
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,785
True, I guess sometimes the impossibe is possible- the news is full of it.
__________________

MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:09 PM   #33
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadTrip View Post
So now I"m confused - if the dogbone adapter will take care of everything - then do I still care about the neutral?
The dogbone only uses one hot and the neutral (and the copper ground of course). If the neutral is not there; there will be no power to a 30 amp camper since there will be no return path for the 110 volts.
__________________
Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:52 AM   #34
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
The dogbone only uses one hot and the neutral (and the copper ground of course). If the neutral is not there; there will be no power to a 30 amp camper since there will be no return path for the 110 volts.

AWESOME!

Thanks so much!!!

__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:14 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Sask. Canada
Posts: 69
Why can't you use 3 wires? Two wires are hot and the other is used as a neutral and you put a jumper to the ground. If you look inside your panel box both the neutral and the ground bars are basiclly connected to one common ground wire that comes in the main service enterance and also connects to a ground rod driven into the ground outside. The older style dryers and stoves used this system with 220v. and they had part of their systems running off 110-timers and clocks and motors were all 110v not 220. By using three wires as discribed above you have 220v across the two hot wires but you also have two 110v circuts if you go from each hot wire to the neutral.
ayotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:26 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
It's called National Electric Code.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:36 PM   #37
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
Here's pics - I noted that someone said a 50amp outlet has 4 prongs for the RV outlet. So.....does that mean this is wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cs iphone 017.jpg
Views:	359
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	23641   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cs iphone 013.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	23642  
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:49 PM   #38
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 292
That is not a 50 amp 4-wire receptical nor a 30 amp RV receptical. It looks like an older three wire 220 VAC receptical, which would have 220 VAC between the two vertical slots and a ground wire.

What ever you do DO NOT PLUG YOUR RV INTO THIS RECEPTACLE!!!!!

Great damage will be done, costing you thousands of dollars.
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy Schnoodle & Bucky (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:52 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,101
That is a 220 V outlet for a dryer. That is not a 50A RV outlet. If you look at millertimes post he shows a 50A TO 30A adapter you need a plug that the 50A side would fit into.
__________________
Ontario

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:54 PM   #40
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
ROFLMAO - seriously???

Time to call another electrician....
__________________

__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.