Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 12:16 AM   #51
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I am staying out of this.

I am of the opinion that the whole thing needs to be done right either as a 30 amp outlet (requires less rework) or ripped out entirely and the correct wiring for a 50 amp service put in.

My 2 cents and done.
X2
__________________

__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:58 AM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,027
This post is like 2 drunks in a Bar telling a person how to wire a house! Mixed input without all the facts will (KILL) someone! I only advise people to use a (Licensed/Bonded/Insured Electrician)! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:11 AM   #53
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
This post is like 2 drunks in a Bar telling a person how to wire a house! Mixed input without all the facts will (KILL) someone! I only advise people to use a (Licensed/Bonded/Insured Electrician)! Youroo!!
I think we are pretty much on the same page that trying to use that outlet as it exists to power an RV is a mistake and leave it at that.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:18 AM   #54
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I am staying out of this.

I am of the opinion that the whole thing needs to be done right either as a 30 amp outlet (requires less rework) or ripped out entirely and the correct wiring for a 50 amp service put in.

My 2 cents and done.
Sold.

And the picture of the outlet is correct - it makes a shocked/sad face (no pun intended).

I agree - I'm calling someone new.

But we even had an electrician friend install one at grandma's house, and he was surprised to find RV plugs as their own thing.

So when we built our house, we didn't own an RV. Our instructions to him were - "Oh, and an RV plug along this wall - maybe about here."

Granted - he never followed up to ask what we meant by RV plug (we wouldn't have known at the time) - but I can't completely blame him. His clients gave shoddy instructions.
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:05 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 732
Just asking not pointing fingers, but do you not require an electrical permit for an installation like that, and if so were was the inspector after work completion?
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:15 PM   #56
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
why would the inspector care about a correctly wired welding outlet?
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:21 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 732
Perhaps the permit application requests an RV outlet? Again I don't know just asking?
__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:29 PM   #58
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
got me - we built a whole house, not just a garage or RV bay so the builder took care of all that stuff. Couldn't even tell you if anyone besides me called it an RV plug.
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:30 PM   #59
Graduate Member
 
RoadTrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 508
LOL - but apparently I got a A-1 welding outlet installed (dunno how to weld, but that's never stopped me before).
__________________
--2009 Sunseeker 2860DS (Class C)
- one Hotwife, and two boys under 2(with one on the way!)
2013 - 53 days
2012 - 26 days

RoadTrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:37 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 732
Well it seems like you have all the correct info now and you will be able to use the outlet for the RV as originally intended!! Enjoy and have fun.
__________________

__________________
Of all the things I've lost in my life the thing I miss the most is my mind!
prairiecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.