Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 10:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Replacing Tank Sensors

I have just replaced the sensors on my black tank with the Horst Miracle Sensors. Prior to the change the tank always showed full regardless of whether we had just dumped. Since the change the tank always shows empty. Ground is good and wires are back in the original position (on the new sensors). What went wrong?
__________________

__________________
6wheelgypsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 11:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i would recheck and make sure a couple wires weren't switched. maybe the top and common. if that is good, see if they are tight.
that is abt all i can suggest. i don't see how anything else could have happened.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:44 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Take all the wires loose, make sure they are not touching anything, and then take a reading. Should be empty. If not, the problem is in the board, not the sensors.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:19 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Is the problem with the black tank or all tanks?

If all tanks and you only worked on the black, the board is cooked.

If the black tank only.

PROBLEM:
DISPLAYS “F” ON ONE OR MORE TANKS, OTHERS TEST GOOD.

TEST:
(A) VERIFY THAT LEVELS IN TANKS DO NOT MATCH DISPLAY

(B) SWAP TANK CONNECTINS ON PANEL AS FOR PREVIOUS
PROBLEM. RESET TANKS TO SEE IF PROBLEM HAS ALSO
CHANGED TO ANOTHER TANK OR IS STILL IN THE SAME
TANK.

DIAGNOSIS:

(A) IF STEP (2) ABOVE STILL DISPLAYS “F” ON THE SAME
TANK, REPLACE PRINTED CIRCUIT BOARD.

(B) IF STEP (2) ABOVE DISPLAYS “F” ON DIFFERENT TANK,
THEM THE PROBLEM MAYBE A SHORT IN THE WIRING, A
SIGNAL WIRE SHORTED TO GROUND WILL DISPLAY “F”
ON THE PANEL. REPAIR OR REPLACE WIRING.


My money is on you swapped the ground for a signal wire.

Horst Miracle Probe 5th Wheel Install #1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	probes550x254.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	15867   Click image for larger version

Name:	Horst Probe Install 008.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	15868   Click image for larger version

Name:	Horst Probe Install 035.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	15869  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Micro Monitor Panel Troubleshooting.pdf (149.2 KB, 99 views)
File Type: pdf KIB Monitor Panel M21 Wireing Diagram.pdf (51.2 KB, 52 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 01:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
there is another item. where three of the wires attach to a small (postage stamp sized) box before the wire goes to the panel. when one of mine was showing full, someone at the factory pointed to that item. don't see how u could have damaged that unless it was pulled on.

if any part of it is still working. the only problem is the one tank, i would verify everything else to be right before replacing a board. if that board is in the display panel, i would think it would be dead on all tanks. i'm a little hard headed abt looking at something other that what i did to stop something from working.

the board may be ur problem but i would try and prove that before buying another. if all u did was swap probes but it was otherwise functioning, i would tend to look elsewhere first. when i couldn't find anything, i would take a bowl of water and place the common lead and then each of the other wires (individually) in it to see it anything changes.

make sure u didn't break one of the wires in the process of tightening them down.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:15 PM   #6
Site Team
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 2,919
I'd like to try this mod but my trailer has an enclosed underbelly. I'm kind of reluctant to try taking it down. Has anyone done this? If so, I'd like to hear of your experience with it.

We have been using PurePower enzyme additive in the black tank. This year I've been trying the GEO method and driving with just a few gallons of water, softener, and detergent in there trying to clean things up. But no luck so far. Black tank still shows full no matter what.

I suppose I could save myself the trouble and expense just by looking down the toilet bowl!!
__________________
http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2012 F150 FX4 Ecoboost, 2016 Surveyor 274BHS
2003 Yamaha FJR1300, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i have the probes and have been wanting to make the modification. i also have the underbelly enclosed. went in from the top and found that i would have to drill holes (the old probes are bonded in). even with a close quarter drill, i didn't have enough room to get between the sewer out line and the tank.
couldn't see how the sewer out line was attach so it's on hold. i noticed from the pictures on herk's that it appears there is a hose clamp holding it. i may tackle it after all.
underbelly has a section that is removable below the tanks. i'll lower that next. it will be on my bucket list.
i've had success getting my black sensor to show zero after massive flushing. it is short lived though, first flush and all the way up.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:04 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh View Post
where three of the wires attach to a small (postage stamp sized) box before the wire goes to the panel.
Jim, that "box" is a resistor pack.

See the attached diagram. As the indicators are submerged the resistor pack finds grounds and changes the resistance of the circuit. That is why a shorted signal wire will always show "FULL"

Are you sure that they are "bonded" in? There is a rubber compression washer on my old probes. A pair of side cutters were all that was required to wiggle them out. Be sure to push the old threaded part into the tank a little ways to provide room for the compressed rubber to collapse and allow withdrawal of the probe.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:09 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Anyone having probelms with their indicators need to look at the Horst probe video AND read the troubleshooting guide I attached to my first post in this thread. It is all the way at the bottom.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 05:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
didn't know what it was. makes sense to limit current an more probes are flooded. do u happen to know if they are the same value for grey or black? looks like the black would much more conductive.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.