Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 119
Question RV Park Power Pedestal Wiring

Do the pedestals at the parks have 1 50A feeder that serves the 50A-30A and 20A by pig-tailing the wires. The reason I ask is I am buying a Prime Products 12-4058 AC Power Line Monitor that has a 20A plug-in. If I test the 20A wiring and all is good does that mean the 30 and 50 are ok. I use the 30A plug on my MH. OR do I have to get a 20-30A converter and plug into the 30A plug to test the circuit.
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Wildkats66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:31 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildkats66 View Post
Do the pedestals at the parks have 1 50A feeder that serves the 50A-30A and 20A by pig-tailing the wires. The reason I ask is I am buying a Prime Products 12-4058 AC Power Line Monitor that has a 20A plug-in. If I test the 20A wiring and all is good does that mean the 30 and 50 are ok. I use the 30A plug on my MH. OR do I have to get a 20-30A converter and plug into the 30A plug to test the circuit.
Thanks in advance.
Not all parks have 50 amp service, or if they do, they may not have it at all the sites.

You may also find out, that not every park has their pedestals wired the same way.

probably, the best thing to do since you have a 30 amp trailer, is to get the 30 amp male-15 amp female adapter cord you talked about. Then you can test all the 30 amp outlets with the 12-4058.

The following link tells how to make up an outlet tester using an analog gauge and a circuit tester. Since you have the 12-4058 that combines the circuit tester and gauge into one, you only need it.

30-amp RV outlet Tester

Personally, I have both setups. I have one like in the link to test the outlets at the campgrounds before plugging in (I bought this first).....and have a 12-4058 (bought later) that I keep plugged in to an outlet inside the trailer so I can see at a glance if the voltage is dropping.

If something happened to my first setup, I could always use the second in it's place if needed.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:54 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildkats66 View Post
Do the pedestals at the parks have 1 50A feeder that serves the 50A-30A and 20A by pig-tailing the wires. The reason I ask is I am buying a Prime Products 12-4058 AC Power Line Monitor that has a 20A plug-in. If I test the 20A wiring and all is good does that mean the 30 and 50 are ok. I use the 30A plug on my MH. OR do I have to get a 20-30A converter and plug into the 30A plug to test the circuit.
Thanks in advance.
I've been to campgrounds that had the 20amp wired correctly, but not the 30. I wouldn't assume that if one is correct, they all are.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:24 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The few campgrounds I actually got to look into had a 50 amp dual breaker that powered the 50 amp outlet and it also fed the 30 and the 20 amp services through separate breakers (each connected to a leg off the 50 amp).

They were parasites off the 50 amp "main"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Multi Panel.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	23863  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
On the other hand I saw one opened by a drive away, could see all internals. It was d fed by a cable set at least two hundred VAC amps @220 Volts for the 50amp breaker and set up as a parallel bus so each circuit had full capacity. Not sure what NEC recommends for this app. Seems risky to have the circuits downfeed rather than parallel.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:31 AM   #6
Member
 
FR28footer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 82
I carry a 30 amp and 50 amp progressive industry power/surge protectors. You plug it and it runs a test for voltage, ground and amps. If there is a problem it will generate an error code telling you what the problem is. So no need to monitor anything. It does it for you.
__________________
2012 Silverado 3500HD, 6.6L Duramax
Montana Big Sky 3625RE
Two Field Bred Springers
FR28footer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,031
Test every time (Before) you plug in! I dont care if a Rig just pulled out from using the Elect. Testers are (Cheap) compared to the damage that (May) happen. State Parks,privite campgrounds,Trees with a box on them,(Brand New Homes wired up for RVs). You can (Guess) or you can be (Sure)! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
The post come wired for the 30 amp and 15/20amp service. The wires run from the main panel to the post to wire the 50 amp service. It is wired with one red one black for the hot side and one white for the common side and a ground. When wiring you have to make sure that you attach the wires the same in all of the post. The 30 amp and 20 amp are fed from one of the 50 amp wires. Not all cg do the wiring in this manner. I have been at some cg where the main breaker for the 50 amp post is 70 amps.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 119
Smile

Thanks all,

I think I will just have a tester for the 20 and the 30. Can't see my Class C ever needing a 50 since we usually only run the AC when necessary. Our 1992 Carriage Cashey fiver never had any problems with just a 30. Then again all we had was the AC, lights, and a portable MW.
__________________
Wildkats66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:46 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
awwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Biloxi, Ms
Posts: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR28footer View Post
I carry a 30 amp and 50 amp progressive industry power/surge protectors. You plug it and it runs a test for voltage, ground and amps. If there is a problem it will generate an error code telling you what the problem is. So no need to monitor anything. It does it for you.
X2 on the PI Power Monitor. I don't plugin without mine...period. I learned the hard way. Cost me 2 TV's and a microwave from a surge.
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Susan Biloxi,Ms
2012 GeorgeTown 351DS...2015 Ford Focus/Brake Buddy
FROG Member
awwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.