Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 08:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 15
Shore Power

I know this has probably been covered. Just spent an hour browsing and cant find it. so here it goes

Had a sunseeker 30a that i used to plug into my 15a garage outlet via adapter. Mainly to cool down fridge before long trip and lights.

We have upgradede to a class a 50a. I already have a 30a dogbone.
Question: is it ok to use adapter to plug into 15a circuit? I realize that I cannot run ac, m/w, etc because it will trip breaker. Is there something (batt conv, etc) that i do not know about that could cause problem? Anyone else do this? I plan on getting a 30a installed in spring.
__________________

tnt588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:00 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt588 View Post
I know this has probably been covered. Just spent an hour browsing and cant find it. so here it goes

Had a sunseeker 30a that i used to plug into my 15a garage outlet via adapter. Mainly to cool down fridge before long trip and lights.

We have upgradede to a class a 50a. I already have a 30a dogbone.
Question: is it ok to use adapter to plug into 15a circuit? I realize that I cannot run ac, m/w, etc because it will trip breaker. Is there something (batt conv, etc) that i do not know about that could cause problem? Anyone else do this? I plan on getting a 30a installed in spring.
Yes you can use the dogbone.
Converter is really the only thing that runs.

If your going to spend the money to install 30amp it really won't cost that much more for 50 amp.

Here's a handy chart.
normal appliance amp draws

Turbs
__________________

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tomjsas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 508
With my 50amp 5er I used my 50 to 30 amp dogbone and then 15 amp to wall plug only to cool down fridge. Then a friend and I installed a 50amp box in the garage so I don't have to do that anymore. Nice to be ablevto run both a/cs nowbat home!
__________________
Tom
Pull-Rite 16K Super 5th
2014 Rockwood Signature Ultra-Lite 8289WS
2011 Chevy 2500HD - DuraMax (Just over 5000 miles now!)
Nights camped in 2014 - 21
tomjsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 01:01 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 15
Thanks for the answers. Thought it would be ok for low current draw. Installing a 30 or 50a outlet might be a problem. My service panel is full. Might have to install sub panel?
tnt588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:26 PM   #5
2014 Traveler
 
RetAFRVnW8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boise Area, ID
Posts: 30
I too used the dog bones to at least get some power to my TT until this morning. Installed a 50amp plug to the outside of my garage and am currently enjoying some carefree power!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131009_162346.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	40867
RetAFRVnW8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.