Old 04-12-2012, 05:23 PM   #1

Smoking electrical

Hi All
I recently purchased a 2006 Lexington 255GTS - I'm new to RVing.

The first two nights were spent unplugged in parking lots. On the third night of camping, we plugged into 50amp shore power in northern Montana. Everything worked inside the coach as we setup for the night. The heater was running as it was about 15F degrees outside. Hot water and lights in the coach worked fine.

About 2 hours after plugging into shore power, we noticed a smell of burning wires. At about midnight the smell was growing stronger so I unplugged the shore power and inspected the coach batteries. I found no obvious source of the smell but it went away after unplugging the shore power. None of the breakers were tripped and the coach batteries are new and full of fluid.

I'm reluctant to plug in again until I know what the problem is.
Any suggestions on a diagnosis would be appreciated.

Jeff

Old 04-12-2012, 05:37 PM   #2

You did right to unplug the cable. There is certaily an electrical problem that cause the wiring to overheat and will probably set the trailer on fire if left like that. It could be a loose connection on a electrical wire or a problem with your converter.

Old 04-12-2012, 05:44 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpdonald View Post
Hi All
I recently purchased a 2006 Lexington 255GTS - I'm new to RVing.

The first two nights were spent unplugged in parking lots. On the third night of camping, we plugged into 50amp shore power in northern Montana. Everything worked inside the coach as we setup for the night. The heater was running as it was about 15F degrees outside. Hot water and lights in the coach worked fine.