Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 04:45 PM   #1
Wanna Be Camper
 
SaskCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Posts: 2,370
Some very good RV electrical info

Seems this guy knows his stuff to some degree.

RV Electric
__________________

__________________

John & Deb
2011 F250 Lariat FX4 Crew Cab 6.2
2011 Flagstaff V-Lite 30WRLS
Days Camped 2016: 3 2017: 0
SaskCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
IT Guru
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 106
Send a message via AIM to jsilvius Send a message via Skype™ to jsilvius
Thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________

2006 Flagstaff 831FKSS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT 5.9L Turbo Diesel Quad Cab
1 - DH (me); 1 - DW (Tee); 1 - DS (Jarod, 12)
Nights Camping: 2010 - 15; 2011 - 7; 2012 - 9
jsilvius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSasks View Post
Seems this guy knows his stuff to some degree.

RV Electric
I have several of his links in the Herkbrary.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
coderider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSasks
Seems this guy knows his stuff to some degree.

RV Electric
Thanks, bookmarked this site and will be making one of those 50A testers for my rig. Already have a 30-50A adapter so should be good to go.

Great link.
__________________
coderider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 08:24 PM   #5
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,775
Man am I glad I put a 50 amp service in at my house and just use a commercial adapter to 30amp. If I would have hooked up a 30 amp I would have smoked my new trailer. I have done tons of house and shop wiring but was not aware of rv plugs being different. GREAT INFO for any rver and electrician!!
__________________
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 156
Good info there. Only problem I see is it seems to muddy the water between the actual difference between neutral and ground. 99% of panels have the neutral and ground on the same bus.
__________________
2010 Cherokee Grey Wolf 28BH
86ish palomino slide in
2000 F250 superduty 4x4 7.3/6speed crew/ short
edman87k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:33 PM   #7
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by edman87k5 View Post
99% of panels have the neutral and ground on the same bus.
But they're not supposed to.

L.A. City electrical inspectors will invariably fail an inspection if a sub-box has neutral and ground tied.

Gotta' run separate runs back to the main panel.

It's a "safety thing".

Pop
__________________
2005 Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.
It recently replaced our Flagstaff 21FB (which we still have)

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:52 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
KarenKamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10
Thx for the site. Never knew what the difference was.

Question: If I have a 50 amp prong, connected to a 30 amp adapter that doesn't come apart because the thing has welded itself together, does that mean I need to purchase a new cord and adapter? (Because somewhere along the line, it smoked itself together?)
__________________
Karen, Rocky and Sassy
Chevy Silverado 1500 6.0L LTZ
Forest River Cardinal 30' TT
KarenKamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:13 AM   #9
Just a member
 
kandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cool Pool, AB
Posts: 783
This is good stuff - thx. Especially for those of us that assume we can simply plug and play wherever we end up.
__________________
Keith, Lori & the Wild Bunch
TT: 2011 Rockwood 8293RKSS
TV: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 CC 4x4 (ya.. it's got a Hemi
)
kandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:58 AM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarenKamper View Post
Question: If I have a 50 amp prong, connected to a 30 amp adapter that doesn't come apart because the thing has welded itself together, does that mean I need to purchase a new cord and adapter? (Because somewhere along the line, it smoked itself together?)
Smoked itself together? I would say, "yes" and ask what caused that?
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.