Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 06:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
cmcallaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Strange electrical issues

Two weeks ago we camped in our 2012 Rockwood 8281ss and everything was working fine. Last weekend the TV, microwave and 12 volt converter charger were dead. Then I found out that the AC won't work without 12 power which we lost. Had to keep connecting to the truck to survive the 94 degree Florida heat. Got the unit back and called the dealer and they immediately went on the defensive over the phone saying that it sounds like a power surge or lightening strike and would not be covered under warranty. They also initially said they couldn't see the unit for a month, causing us to cancel our scheduled vacation this week.

Well I went to the dealership and told the service manager I have never heard of a lightening strike taking out selective devices, usually it takes out everything. Complained to the top and they will see the unit this Thursday. I also told them I have a surge suppressor i use between the power pedestal and the trailer. My theory is that the 12 volt charger/converter had a malfunction and impacted some nearby circuits.

My question is has anyone experienced a similar failure and if so what caused it? Or does anyone have a different scenario that could explain my problem.
__________________

__________________
cmcallaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:33 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The air conditioner won't work without 12VDC? Where did you hear that?
The thermostats power comes from the air conditioner; not the converter.

The AC issues may also be a popped GFCI on a wall outlet. Check them all carefully. The Converter is also powered off a circuit breaker on your power panel. Turn them all OFF; then back on.

Let me know what you find out.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:22 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
mtusrsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Lou, I can also say for certain that my A/C will NOT work without 12VDC. I found this out by accident when I had my converter mistakenly powered down with all other 110VAC breakers on. Left the radio on all night, and whattaya know, the A/C quit working at the same time as the radio. When I restored power to the converter, everything came back to life. Not sure what, but SOMETHING in that white box on the roof is 12V!

TV and microwave, that sounds a little different since they are obviously 110.

Hopefully the dealer you are going to has a tech with some solid electrical knowledge. I sure struck out with mine (you can read the saga on one of my older threads).

I would suggest testing voltage on the circuits that power those items that are not working. Trying to diagnose without testing each circuit individually amounts to a good guess.
__________________
mtusrsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:28 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Thermostat is 12v . I'd say a/c would not work.
No signal from thermostat.

Take your cover off there's a plus and a minus and it's not 110.
Actually it says 7.5

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120814_222806.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	18066
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:31 AM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The thermostat gets its 12 vdc signal from a transformer in the air conditioner's control board; same as your house. Last I looked, my "dumb" house thermostat does not have a battery to run my air conditioner.

Not talking about smart ones that may have a AA or AAA battery inside the thermostat.

http://www.rvcomfort.com/pdf_documents/1976128.pdf

Only 110 VAC goes to the air conditioner and air handler unit (unless you have some kind of 12VDC air conditioner that runs off your battery without any 120VAC. Stranger things have happened).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RV AC Wiring Diagram.jpg
Views:	548
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	18074  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1976128 120 VAC Wiring Diagram.pdf (58.7 KB, 21 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:10 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Now you got me thinking.
So in theory the 110 coming into a/c unit also supplies transformer to make 12v for thermostat.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:16 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Now you got me thinking.
So in theory the 110 coming into a/c unit also supplies transformer to make 12v for thermostat.
Yep, now you are thinking.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:29 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769

Yep, now you are thinking.
Learning from the best !
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:51 AM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
I learn as well. As I researched this, I think I installed my hard start capacitor on the wrong OEM capacitor. I think I put it on the larger "RUN" capacitor and it looks like it should have gone on the smaller "START" capacitor.

I need to go back up on the roof and check now.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:53 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769
I learn as well. As I researched this, I think I installed my hard start capacitor on the wrong OEM capacitor. I think I put it on the larger "RUN" capacitor and it looks like it should have gone on the smaller "START" capacitor.

I need to go back up on the roof and check now.
Lol !
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.