Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-11-2019, 04:56 AM   #1

Stupid question - Generator & Shore Power

Forgive my ignorance as i am new to the Diesel Pusher life.

I have a Class A Diesel Pusher. If I am plugged i to a 30 or 50 amp hook up can i still run my generator while remaining to be plugged into shore power?

Not on a regular basis but for instance I am sometimes stationary for a few weeks and like to keep everything alive so i run generator for a short time. The generator is a Onan 8500.

Thank you.
VISUALFXWIZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 07:09 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by VISUALFXWIZ View Post
Forgive my ignorance as i am new to the Diesel Pusher life.

I have a Class A Diesel Pusher. If I am plugged i to a 30 or 50 amp hook up can i still run my generator while remaining to be plugged into shore power?

Not on a regular basis but for instance I am sometimes stationary for a few weeks and like to keep everything alive so i run generator for a short time. The generator is a Onan 8500.

Thank you.
Not a stupid question since you don't know. I don't know for sure either as I don't have a generator in my 5er.

If you start your generator the coach should default to the gen and disconnect from Shore Power. The Transfer Switch does this. I'm told that RV's are built to Default to Gen power.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 07:20 AM   #3

Yes, and power input will automatically switch over to the generator. When generator is shut down will switch back to shore power. Not sure why you want to do this though other than having more amperage available if shore power is 30 amp. I am not familiar with your MH so my input is for a typical motorhome setup. Shore power is default power source but generator has priority.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 07:51 AM   #4