Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2013, 01:26 PM   #41
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
yes you still buy a 50 amp EMS
cost varies by where you buy it. "amazon" Ebay etc etc or through actual manufacture.
very happy with purchase
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 11:12 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 60
Frank Autotransformer

Franks Autotranformer

I have used it in a lot of places and had to move because the power was wrong at the post. If you dont use franks please use something.

__________________

__________________
RONN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:07 PM   #43
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
4 wires easy, color coded . Hardest part is wrestling w the 6 gauge wire.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:35 PM   #44
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Here's pics of the PI 50 install in my camper. It is very cool. I didn't make it unpluggable, bu probably should of.

By the way what does the little switch do on the side of the remote. It says off in one position and reads normal in the other.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:40 PM   #45
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Grrr. Here is pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	29202  
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:45 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
By the way what does the little switch do on the side of the remote. It says off in one position and reads normal in the other.
That's the "bypass". It tells the unit to turn on the power even when it's got an error code telling you that it doesn't think it should. "Off" means that the protection is off (eg, bypassed). Use that setting only if you've verified that there really is something wrong with the PI unit and nothing wrong with the power connections.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:07 PM   #47
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
That's the "bypass". It tells the unit to turn on the power even when it's got an error code telling you that it doesn't think it should. "Off" means that the protection is off (eg, bypassed). Use that setting only if you've verified that there really is something wrong with the PI unit and nothing wrong with the power connections.
Barry correct me iph I'm wrong but that switch just bypasses low and high voltage.
Surge suppression still works with switch to off.

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:14 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Barry correct me iph I'm wrong but that switch just bypasses low and high voltage.
Surge suppression still works with switch to off.

Turbs
I think it's more correct to say that it bypasses anything that is an error code (which is more than just high/low voltage). And you're absolutely right that it does not turn off "Spike" suppression. Note that an E10 code means that you have no Spike suppression, bypassed or not.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:43 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
I have this 50 amp Progressive Industries EMS-LCHW50
EMS-LCHW50C

It also has build-in bypass in case you blow your surge protection and still needs power. You then send in the surge circuit board that is replaced easily by plugging it into the main circuit board.
All other you have to replace or send the whole thing in for repair.
This has really protected my motrohome when I wa soutside the USA and the power was as high as 131 volts per leg. This shuts down until the power gets back in a normal range.
I installed it myself by cutting my main cable and installing inbetween.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new 004.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	29207  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 09:57 PM   #50
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Ahhh thanks. Will that prevent the need for a way to unplug it?
__________________

__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.