Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2013, 09:59 PM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
...
It also has build-in bypass in case you blow your surge protection and still needs power. You then send in the surge circuit board that is replaced easily by plugging it into the main circuit board.
When the "surge protection" (MOVs) blow, this turns on the E10 code but does NOT turn off power to your RV, so "Bypass" is unneeded in that case. The "bypass" is to bypass other error codes (and should only be done if you really know what you're doing or have been told to do it by PI tech support).
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:08 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Ahhh thanks. Will that prevent the need for a way to unplug it?
I think only PI could tell you if it will *always* be possible to make repairs to components rather than having to send in the whole box.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:19 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Ahhh thanks. Will that prevent the need for a way to unplug it?
Yes it is hard wired in and no one can steal it unless they breakin and rip it out. No one knows its there from the outside. That was another reson I bought it. It has a short delay when hooking up shore power and checks all the parameters before closing the contactor inside. Also the small led screen shows the voltage, amps, freq., and any past faults.

It was a great choice for me.
$289 on ebay with free shipping is a great price for the 50 amp version.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Progressive-...505#vi-content
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:41 PM   #54
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
I did the hardware version, but turb's also put in disconnect and I'm wondering why if the switch turns it off.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:18 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
I did the hardware version, but turb's also put in disconnect and I'm wondering why if the switch turns it off.
The disconnect connectors that Turbs has are great for the event that either a) Something were to happen where PI would need the entire unit sent in and you still want power or b) let's say you sell your rig and want to pull it out to move to your new one (or sell if you change and require a different EMS unit like moving from a 30 to a 50) just disconnect the PI and plug the wires together.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:48 PM   #56
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
The disconnect connectors that Turbs has are great for the event that either a) Something were to happen where PI would need the entire unit sent in and you still want power or b) let's say you sell your rig and want to pull it out to move to your new one (or sell if you change and require a different EMS unit like moving from a 30 to a 50) just disconnect the PI and plug the wires together.
Ahhhh. I see said der blind man.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:56 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post

Ahhhh. I see said der blind man.
Works like a champ too! I speak from experience (went from 30 amp to 50 amp) and I was able to remove and sell the PI pretty easily!
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 12:19 AM   #58
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
When the "surge protection" (MOVs) blow, this turns on the E10 code but does NOT turn off power to your RV, so "Bypass" is unneeded in that case. The "bypass" is to bypass other error codes (and should only be done if you really know what you're doing or have been told to do it by PI tech support).
Thanks for the correction about if the MOV board blows.
I used the bypass wire one time when I needed power and the campground power was above the max limit of the device.
Either way it is worth the few $$'s
Thanks
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 07:00 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Is this possible??? We purchased a Progressive Industries 50 Amp Hardwired Integrated Display EMS-LCHW50C, we asked Camping World to install..... the following is from Camping World...."Since the surge protector has a display, it has to be mounted in a place where you can see it. If we mount it by the transfer switch, it will be hidden behind a wall and you will have zero access. So the tech needs to run wire from the transfer switch, to a place where it would be accessible to the human eye and not hidden away. The cost to install it is $423.00. We did not want to proceed unless we had authorization from you. Is this possible?????
That's a lot of $$$$ for an install?????
__________________
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 07:05 PM   #60
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogey3025 View Post
Is this possible??? We purchased a Progressive Industries 50 Amp Hardwired Integrated Display EMS-LCHW50C, we asked Camping World to install..... the following is from Camping World...."Since the surge protector has a display, it has to be mounted in a place where you can see it. If we mount it by the transfer switch, it will be hidden behind a wall and you will have zero access. So the tech needs to run wire from the transfer switch, to a place where it would be accessible to the human eye and not hidden away. The cost to install it is $423.00. We did not want to proceed unless we had authorization from you. Is this possible?????
That's a lot of $$$$ for an install?????
Lol !
Mine took 30 minutes to install.
And my moniter panel is near the floor.
When I open my camper door and look in its at eye level.

Cw scam.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.