Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2014, 10:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 87
Surge Protectors.

I am looking at buying a surge protector for my 30 amp camper. The question I have is can I buy a 50 amp surge protector instead of the 30 amp version and use a adapter. The reason is if I ever upgrade I won't have to buy a new one at time. I can buy it upfront and be done.
__________________

__________________
LSUTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:28 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
No you cant.
You need a 30 amp.

If you ever upgrade list it on here for sale it won't last a day.
You'll never have a problem selling it.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
No you cant.
You need a 30 amp.

If you ever upgrade list it on here for sale it won't last a day.
You'll never have a problem selling it.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
Sorry TURBS Wrong Answer.

I was running a RV Rally this last weekend and called our friends at Progressive Industries. I was going to be managing both 30 & 50 AMP outlets and asked if I could use my 50Amp to check 30 amp. The kind lady at Progressive not only said I could check the 30s with my 50, she said with a pigtail I could use my 50 on a 30 (Cool I did not know that either!)

So, LSUTiger, Yes y0u can buy your 50Amp unit now
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 2014 - 42 2015 - 56 Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 87
So I could do the 50 amp surge protector and use a Y adapter to run my main 30 amp line and also for my separate AC up front that runs on a 20amp breaker and be ok then. I had them install an extra AC upfront that is on its own separate 30amp line.
__________________
LSUTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 11:00 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSVBamaBob View Post
Sorry TURBS Wrong Answer.

I was running a RV Rally this last weekend and called our friends at Progressive Industries. I was going to be managing both 30 & 50 AMP outlets and asked if I could use my 50Amp to check 30 amp. The kind lady at Progressive not only said I could check the 30s with my 50, she said with a pigtail I could use my 50 on a 30 (Cool I did not know that either!)

So, LSUTiger, Yes y0u can buy your 50Amp unit now
Whoa ......
True you can do what she said.

But you cannot install a 50 amp ems with only 30 amp service.
You don't have the appropriate wiring nor enough hot wires.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 12:26 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Whoa ......
True you can do what she said.

But you cannot install a 50 amp ems with only 30 amp service.
You don't have the appropriate wiring nor enough hot wires.

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
It doesn't sound like he's doing a hardwire. Sounds more like he's looking for a plug in kind. In that case, plugging a 50 amp into 50 amp service, then using a 50-30 adapter to power the rig should be perfectly fine.

On the other hand, if he's looking to go 30-50 then a 50, then a 50-30 it might still work, but could really depend on exactly how the EMS handles being on a 30-50 adapter. I haven't heard stories on here yet about issues with a 50A EMS on a 30-50 adapter and I'm sure there must be some guys running 50A rigs who park in 30A serviced sites from time to time so I doubt there'd be much of an issue.

My only concern is where he said he wanted to use a Y to power a second AC unit he has wired up to a separate 30 AMP line. In that case, putting it on a 50 amp service, then using one of those adapters that splits the two legs into a 30 receptacle and a 20 amp receptacle, usually only provide 25 amps to both. So he's basically reduced his 30 amp trailer to running on only 25 amps with this approach. (Actually the same could probably be said of the first approach as I though 50-30 adapters just tap one leg.)

All in all, I'd say the best option would have been to upgrade his rig to 50 amp service to handle the 2nd AC instead of putting it on it's own line and then buy a 50A EMS.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 12:43 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 87
Just to clarify.

I usually will run the main 30 line on the 50. The second ac I can run on the 30. I have even ran the main 30 on the 30 and put second AC on the 20 at times with no problems. Sounds as thought if I try and split the fifty then each respective 30 amp line would only be able to draw a maximum of 25 amps if I am following you correctly. I am trying to get away with one surge protector,but sounds like it won't be possible.
__________________
LSUTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 07:27 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Lsu.
Are you wanting to buy a portable unit or a hard wired?

TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:08 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 87
Turbs I am looking at buying a portable unit. I am trying to get away from having to buy 2 of them. One to protect each line going into the camper.
__________________
LSUTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 08:36 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUTiger View Post
Turbs I am looking at buying a portable unit. I am trying to get away from having to buy 2 of them. One to protect each line going into the camper.
Ok makes more sense now.
You can in fact use a 50 and adapt down to 30 for the main line.

I'm not so sure you'd want to put a tee in so that you can run the extra 20 amp cord tho.
Two ac units running off that tee could get very hot as you'd likely be pushing 30+ amps and I don't believe even the heaviest ones are rated for 30 amps but you may be able to find one.
You'd be better off making a power distribution box with at least 8 awg wiring and having a 30 amp rv receptacle and a 20 amp receptacle.

Be much safer to run another surge but that defeats the purpose.





TURBS


"Sabre owners united"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.