Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2016, 02:43 PM   #1
Member
 
camplight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 52
Temporary Outlet

I am looking for some help and not a bunch of criticism if this is a bad idea...

We will be "dry" camping somewhat when we take our camper (Salem Hemisphere 356QB 2016 50 amp) to my uncles lake cabin. I want to be able to use AC and really that is it so here is my question.

He has a 220 outlet on the porch that he used for an AC that is no longer used. Shouldn't we be able to wire that into a 50 amp plug and use this outlet while we are there? I figured I would be sure to only start up one AC at a time so it is not pulling so much all at once.

Also could I run an extension cord to operate the refrigerator? We have an apartment style 120V fridge or can I use the inverter while connected to the outlet above?

I think this could work but I would like to some opinions and thoughts about this before we do it. All feedback is appreciated. This may or may not be happening next week depending on the response I get here.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
John

2011 Dodge Ram Crew Cab 2500 6.7L 4x4
2016 Salem Hemisphere 356QB
Andersen Ultimate Hitch (over gooseneck ball)
camplight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 02:47 PM   #2
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,269
Pretty sure you'll fry your trailer plugging into that, since it's probably 50a 240v.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 02:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,015
John,Please look up the "No Shock Zone" it tells Exactly how to Wire up what you are asking about! Even REAL electricians Miss wire RV outlets! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 02:55 PM   #4
Member
 
camplight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
John,Please look up the "No Shock Zone" it tells Exactly how to Wire up what you are asking about! Even REAL electricians Miss wire RV outlets! Youroo!!
Where or what is this "No Shock Zone" is it a thread or something else? Thank you for the reply!
__________________
John

2011 Dodge Ram Crew Cab 2500 6.7L 4x4
2016 Salem Hemisphere 356QB
Andersen Ultimate Hitch (over gooseneck ball)
camplight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 02:57 PM   #5
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by camplight View Post
I am looking for some help and not a bunch of criticism if this is a bad idea...

We will be "dry" camping somewhat when we take our camper (Salem Hemisphere 356QB 2016 50 amp) to my uncles lake cabin. I want to be able to use AC and really that is it so here is my question.

He has a 220 outlet on the porch that he used for an AC that is no longer used. Shouldn't we be able to wire that into a 50 amp plug and use this outlet while we are there? I figured I would be sure to only start up one AC at a time so it is not pulling so much all at once.

Also could I run an extension cord to operate the refrigerator? We have an apartment style 120V fridge or can I use the inverter while connected to the outlet above?

I think this could work but I would like to some opinions and thoughts about this before we do it. All feedback is appreciated. This may or may not be happening next week depending on the response I get here.

Thank you.
It all depends on how it is currently wired. It will need four wires for you to convert over to use on your 120/240 volt split phase RV.

It will need two 120 volt hot legs, a common neutral, and a ground.

Since many of the older 240 volt outlets at house are only going to have 3 wires, (2 hot legs) and either a ground...or a neutral (but not a ground + a neutral).... then you won't be able to easily convert.

Even if you just try to take one of the hot legs from the house 240 volt outlet...you still have to have a ground AND a separate neutral....which both are probably not there presently. You can replace his double pole breaker with a single pole breaker, then rewire using the current 3 wires to make a 30 amp service....and then use a 30 to 50 amp adapter to power up your RV, like you would at a campground with no 50 amp service. It's explained in the link below how to also do this.

Here is a good link to peruse. It explains how to actually adapt things like you may have, and what you will have to do to convert over. It's all explained in the left hand tab links....dependent upon what is currently at the house. Check the appliance link to see first, as well as check out the other tabs which explain it all.

RV Electric

If his outlet has two hot legs, a separate neutral, and a separate ground, you are basically good to go.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 03:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by camplight View Post
Where or what is this "No Shock Zone" is it a thread or something else? Thank you for the reply!
It is a Site everyone should read! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 04:55 PM   #7
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by camplight View Post
Where or what is this "No Shock Zone" is it a thread or something else? Thank you for the reply!
Google it.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 05:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 4,283
You should talk to a electrician, tell him what you are going to do. The plug at my house is a 50amp plug but I only get 30amps.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2015 Cedar Creek 32RL
2012 Silverado 3500HD SRW
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ignhavefun.gif
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.