Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 07:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
where in the living daylight is my converter???

Help! I have a 2008 Forest River Wildwood 31 ft 5th wheel that I live in. I need to replace my converter as I have a major power problem. I have looked almost everywhere, but have not dismantled the whole main storage area yet. Looked every where else. I do not have a manual, and I haven;t found one on line. Can anyone direct me in the right direction?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
gypsybanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:38 PM   #2
Commercial Member
 
huntr70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 435
Did you find the box where the breakers and fuses are?

Should be right behind that.....usually part of the electrical system right there.
__________________

__________________
Steve and Vicki
2 kids
2011 Dodge 3500 CTD Outdoorsman
(Tweaked!!)
2013 Columbus 320RS-ITS HERE!!
huntr70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:39 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
I replaced my converter last year, it was located behind the fuse panel.
__________________
mike6065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
thats exactly where it was! sneaky! thank you!
__________________
gypsybanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:56 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike6065 View Post
I replaced my converter last year, it was located behind the fuse panel.

do you remember how much the converter unit cost?
__________________
gypsybanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:00 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Do you just need the converter?

Depending what amp you have they run from 100.00 to 200.00

Imo if its a wfco brand converter don't bother replacing it with another wfco as they are junk.

Use instead a progressive dynamics intelli power.

You'll thank me later lol


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
When replacing the converter you can always put in a higher amp unit but never put in a lower amp unit.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:32 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper View Post
When replacing the converter you can always put in a higher amp unit but never put in a lower amp unit.
X2
I replaced my 55amp with a 70amp
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:12 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
rv repairman coming Friday with one he has in stock, so I'll have to wait and see what he has in mind. thanks for the helpful info:-)
__________________

__________________
gypsybanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.