Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2014, 06:38 AM   #1
GC
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
Wiring a 30 amp outlet

Needing a little electrical advice. I replaced the main service panel in my home and want to add a 30 amp RV outlet out of this main panel. I have wired the correct RV outlet with the correct gauge wire and have run the wire to the panel. Diagram shows black wire to breaker, white to neutral bar and the bare wire to the ground bar. Since this is the main service panel, the neutral & ground are bonded together and not separated like on a sub panel where they are seperated.
Do I just hook the neutral & ground wires to the neutral bar?

Thanks
GC
__________________

__________________
GC
garycarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 06:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berryville, Arkansas
Posts: 709
Yes, GC, that's exactly what you do.
__________________

__________________


2012 CC 36CKTS Touring Edition
[SIZE=2]2015 Ford F-350 CC DRW Lariat
Joe_GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 06:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Black to breaker, white to neutral bar and bare conductor to ground bar. (this is the way that is done in Ontario, yours might differ)
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 06:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berryville, Arkansas
Posts: 709
I think he is talking about a breaker panel where there is only one buss bar for the neutrals and ground. If that's the case, they go together. If there are separate ground and neutral bars they should go to their respective buss bars.
__________________


2012 CC 36CKTS Touring Edition
[SIZE=2]2015 Ford F-350 CC DRW Lariat
Joe_GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 06:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_GA View Post
I think he is talking about a breaker panel where there is only one buss bar for the neutrals and ground. If that's the case, they go together. If there are separate ground and neutral bars they should go to their respective buss bars.
Got it, true......
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 07:37 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Main breaker panel has Neutral and Ground wires bonded.

Sub-Panels have separate buss bars since by code there can only be one bonded connection in a system.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:19 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Here is how to do it.

Just remember it is 110 volts no matter what your electrician friend says ()
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 30-amp Service.pdf (64.7 KB, 94 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:23 AM   #8
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,379
Good info. Is it the same for 50amp with larger gauge wire and 50a breaker?

Sent from my XT907 using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Reese Revolution Pin, Reese 16K
2008 Tundra Limited Double Cab 5.7L
Air Lift 5000 w/Wireless Air

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:29 AM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcheatwood View Post
Good info. Is it the same for 50amp with larger gauge wire and 50a breaker?

Sent from my XT907 using Forest River Forums mobile app
50 amp is different:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	50_Amp_240V_metered.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	54629   Click image for larger version

Name:	50AMP2-4.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	24.8 KB
ID:	54630  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Top 10 Electrical Mistakes - Vol 1.pdf (452.2 KB, 64 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 12:31 PM   #10
Average Joe
 
MrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mechanicsville, MD
Posts: 689
What size conductors are needed for a 30 amp, 30 foot run?
__________________

__________________
Joe and Karen
2014 Sunseeker 2450sf

Southern Maryland and Beyond!

MrJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.