Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2015, 07:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Yamaha generator - overheating?

I run 2 Yamaha 2000 generators. This pass week the generators keep overloading. I turned everything off but the A/C. The generators would run fine for an hour or 2 before overloading again. In reading the manual, the overload light could also indicate overheating. This seems more likely.

Thoughts?

What can I do to avoid overheating.

Thanks!

Frustrated in Texas
__________________

__________________
2009 Chevy Silverado 5.3L Z71
2014 Salem 281QB
tmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Are you running more than one A/C unit? It COULD be that you are running too large of a load. Those units aren't meant to run at max output for extended periods. Ie., they are 2000w units, but extended rated output is only 1600 (if I remember correctly). I forget what the surge output and duration is now... but I know max is 2000w, rated output is 1600w, and in parallel you're limited to 3600w.
__________________

__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
One unit. It runs for a while and then cuts off, but no when it kicks on, just randomly stops. I turn off the A/C. Turn off the generators. Restart the generators. Turn A/C back on and then I'm good for anywhere from 30 minutes to several hours.
__________________
2009 Chevy Silverado 5.3L Z71
2014 Salem 281QB
tmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 07:59 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
I don't think you can run two a/c units especially in hot weather.
Your pulling down 3600 watts alone with just the a/c units.
Converter is also drawning another 600 to 900 watts.
One a/c at a time.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 08:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
toslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 373
did you check the oil level in the generator?
__________________
haven a blast
toslow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 08:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
Had a similar problem last weekend where my honda 2000 would randomly shut off but restart no problem. Took a while to notice the oil shutdown light. Oil seemed pretty full but added a bit more and got thru the weekend without any more issues.
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 303
Check the manual for oil specifications. In hot weather or running near capacity, there is usually a secondary oil viscosity specification.

Provide shade for the generators when they are operating.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Thanks. I changed the oil after this weekend.

One more thought, what should I do with my battery when my generators are connected? I am leaving the battery's connected so that is pulling from my generator too.
__________________
2009 Chevy Silverado 5.3L Z71
2014 Salem 281QB
tmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jeff64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 908
I would be interested in knowing how many Btu AC you are running. 13,500Btu shouldn't be a problem for the two gensets. BUT, what else are you running at the same time on the generator? Do you have a plug in voltmeter that stays in one of your TT outlets at all times? If,not, suggest you spring for one. Charging a battery at the same time through the converter shouldn't be a issue. Running refrigerator and a bunch of non led lights might get you overloaded though. The voltmeter will tell you whats happening. If you can't pull 110vac whilst your load is on the generator, you got a problem with too much stuff on
__________________
jeff64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 02:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff64 View Post
I would be interested in knowing how many Btu AC you are running. 13,500Btu shouldn't be a problem for the two gensets. BUT, what else are you running at the same time on the generator? Do you have a plug in voltmeter that stays in one of your TT outlets at all times? If,not, suggest you spring for one. Charging a battery at the same time through the converter shouldn't be a issue. Running refrigerator and a bunch of non led lights might get you overloaded though. The voltmeter will tell you whats happening. If you can't pull 110vac whilst your load is on the generator, you got a problem with too much stuff on
I agree here is a chart of amps things pull then figure out what you can run without overloads.
Attached Files
File Type: docx 12 Volt System (1).docx (71.0 KB, 39 views)
File Type: docx 120 Volt System (1).docx (48.4 KB, 36 views)
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, heating

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.