Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-26-2018, 12:19 AM   #1

EZ-Lube axle tear-down for bearing job

This is for those that may want to check their wheel bearings for the amount of grease in/on the wheel bearings applied at the factory, or to check if TOO MUCH grease has been applied using the EZ-Lube system. You should be at least comfortable with mechanical tools and willing to get your hands dirty.

DISCLAIMERS

I offer this picture tutorial to help you become familiar with the LIGHT DUTY EZ-Lube axle from Dexter and DO NOT consider this to be a TOTAL PACKAGE for bearing greasing and grease seal replacment. I am not a trained mechanic. I picked up this knowledge as many of us old guys have done, by watching others do it then doing it ourselves for many years.

This is NOT a tutorial on how to repack bearings as this is covered in some great YOUtube videos which you should have watched before you look at this.

This tutorial is DESIGNED to familiarize yourself with the inner parts of the EZ-Lube axle (AT LEAST AS THEY WERE IN 2013), which is just a wee bit different from many other axles. This post should allow you to be able to do a quick check on the condition of your wheel bearings and the condition of your brakes.

ALSO

This was photographed using my 2014 Shamrock 183 with the Dexter 2,300 - 4,000 lb dual axles (I believe). MY GVW for this trailer is about 4800# and I have two axles. Heavier duty axles MAY BE SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT.

LET'S GET TO IT

I have broken this down into 15 Steps... please comment about a particular Step if you believe you can add to this tutorial.

Make sure your wheel is jacked off the ground and your trailer is stabilized so you can remove one wheel and tire.

Here are some things that you need to accomplish this...

TOOLS
very thin flat blade screwdriver
larger flat blade screwdriver
hammer... medium size... any kind will do