Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2017, 12:27 AM   #1

Help Me - frustrated by dualies

Hello All,

I am fairly new at RVing having recently purchased a Class C Coachmen. This is my first encounter with dulies. Now I pride myself on getting the best equipment for the job as far as I can perceive it. I also take safety advice seriously. I am smart enough to know I have lots to learn. Anyway, I have determined what air pressure I need for my type of tires and load - 60 psi in the dualies. I determined early on that I could not fill these with my current compressor so I went out and got one of those RV 12 V compressor with quick disconnect and the gun/meter. It had a special bent chuck that, I assumed, was to help with dualies. But it is bent in the wrong direction. I went to check/fill the tires before a trip and couldn't do it so I was forced to got down to Les Schwab. They had a standard chuck
For my next trip I got a standard chuck and tried it on one of the extenders. The extender got stuck open and took me several seconds to get it unstuck losing massive pressure in my face. tried it again and the same thing happened. Back down to LS. They pulled out the core which had a long shaft because it is an extender. They told me they don't use extenders for this very reason. They did not have a replacement so they put a gator on the stem. Now is buried back in there.
So I went out tonight and I find that the standard chuck will not align with the outer dually stems. They point inward. I had to remove the hub caps and still the angle was not obtainable so that I could not get a seal on the valve stem.
At this point the spirit of Sam Kennison entered me -- AAAAAAHHHHHHH AHHHHHHHHHHH AAAARRRRRRGGHHHHHHH AAAAAHHHHHHHHH

Please help me. I am now paranoid to approach my tires. I think they are laughing at me. What is the answer?
Bentspoon