Old 05-13-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
Power Tongue Jack Question

I just picked up our new 2013 Mini Lite 2306! it came with an LCI Power Tongue Jack. I have a couple questions about it as I never owned one before.

- I assume these can be left uncovered in the elements. Is there anything special I need to do to store it? Do most people leave them covered or uncovered?

- Is there any way to manually operate it if the motor goes? I don't want to be stuck somewhere and the jack not work?

- It might be too late now but is LCI a good brand?

punkaccountant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 05:24 PM   #2
I'm fairly new to them aswell but have had ours for about a month. The LCI brand leaves something to be desired from what I gather on this site. There is a little rubber plug in the top of the jack. Pull it out an there should be a handle to manually crank it up and down in your unit somewhere. Usually front storage cubby. As far as weather, they are a sealed unit. Shouldn't need to be covered but covering it probably would help it to last a little longer.

Whiskeyjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:52 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
I agree with Whiskeyjack on all points.

You can leave it uncovered. I cover it in the winter, though.

Unplug the rubber plug on the top rear of the unit head, insert the handle and crank away. I've attached your manual for your reference.

Meh, it's not the best. I replaced my LCI with a barker VIP 3500 jack several months into using it. It stripped its gears.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf om-electric-tongue-jack-v2-web.pdf (83.8 KB, 119 views)
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:19 PM   #4