Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2015, 11:09 AM   #161
Commercial Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by gectisme View Post
MilCop4523,
Let preface this by saying I am new to TT's so I am in a heavy learning curve.

My WindJammer has ST225/75R15 tires and they have a speed rating of 75mph, why do you say all ST tires have a max speed rating of 65? Maybe I am missing some info?

Nope you are not missing anything.

The Speed rating of ST tires is very new. Started in early 2015
You are one of the lucky ones that have tires from a company that stepped up to the challenge. This means your tires are made more like latest technology as used in most other P type and LT type tires and not technology from 1970
.Write a blog on RV tire application RV Tire Safety. 48 years experience as tire design & forensic engineer. My RV Freelander 23QB on Chevy 4500 chassis. Giving seminars on RV Tire applications (not selling)@ FMCA Conventions. Mar 20-22 Tucson AZ
Tireman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 11:26 AM   #162

Tires are an interesting subject as I have no idea when ST tires started being used I suspect in the grand scheme is has not been that long. Maybe in the 1990s....... My 1988 Terry came with "P" rated tires but it only weighed 4500 lbs . The first trailer I owned with STs was the 1994 box trailer but not sure if they were the originals.

As far as why Cunningham will only use ST tires on a trailer I too suspect its liability but do not know he stays so busy he opened the 2 other stores. But his prices are hard to beat.... at least in our area......

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 11:27 AM   #163
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oaklevel View Post