Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-18-2014, 10:03 AM   #1

Tire and bearing temperatures

I'm new to RV-ing, and have a 2012 Rockwood A-122 A-frame. I'm reading a lot about monitoring tire and wheel bearing temperatures on the road. I'm using a small, hand-held infra red thermometer to take readings whenever we stop.
I haven't seen any actual temperature values though when one should begin to be concerned about a potential problem. I realize that ambient and roadway surfaces are contributors to temperature increases, as well as brake usage, but I've only seen vague recommendations, like "Stop and let them cool when they get too hot". What is "Too Hot"???? 125 or 150 or 175 degrees or ??
To date, I compare the trailer temperature readings to those of the TV readings, and if similar, just assume everything is going ok.

So, does anyone have any actual recommended safe(?) operating temperature range values for tires and bearings?

Thanks,

Tom
tommytraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 10:23 AM   #2
Site Team

Been wondering the same. I get summer readings of around 120°.

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 11:44 AM   #3
DDC

What you are really looking for is a difference that is excessive, so if three were say 121, 118, 123 but the other was 185 you would be looking for the reason.
Donald&Casey cairn terrier
Rest in Peace Mary my darling wife.
Scottish by birth Canadian by time.
DDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 11:56 AM   #4

175 is when most blowout happens. When I shoot my hubs, I use the method of shooting my TV and then the trailer, If I'm with in 10 degrees then I'm good to go. If one hub is lot hotter like 20 or 25 degrees or so then the rest, I start looking for a problem with that, such as break dragging or so. Almost always I'm within the 10 degree which I find acceptable.