Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2012, 09:00 PM   #1

Trailer sits very low

So I was crawling around under my new trailer today and I realised that the clearance was so low that I couldn't roll over. My hips don't fit. I had noticed when I arrived that the trailer sat low, but I hadn't realised the extent of it. It's been parked outside all winter, so it could just be that the tires need a little air, but I thought that I'd ask how normal this is, before trying to move it... I'm a total newbie at this so every little thing that's not the same as the trailers I've dealt with at work induces worrying.
Margaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:11 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Well, you didn't give us a lot to go on. What trailer, and what size are your hips? (sorry, couldn't resist). I'm 5'10", 130 pounds, 29 inch waist, and can fit under anything except a Mazda Miata. We aren't all created equal, neither are trailers. Now the question is, could you fit under it before? Since your post says new trailer, I can only assume you don't know how tall it is, and you have been under it. As an RV tech, some are higher than others, and not everyone will fit under some of them. Check the tire pressure, and measure both sides from the ground, if they are close, no problem, just the way it is made.
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:15 PM   #3

There's only about a foot of air between the ground and the trailer, that's what concerns me. I can fit, I just can't turn around under there. It might be normal, though. I'm just panicky because I'm totally new at this. The tires need to be changed, whatever happens, they're pretty old.
Old 05-27-2012, 11:46 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus