Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-19-2015, 01:39 AM   #1

What kind of axle do I have on my 2015 wildwood xlite 261bhxl?

Hello I am new to this world of travel trailers as I just bought my first one just two weeks ago. When the driver delivered my camper he said that the grease that sprayed out on one of the wheels was probably due to over packing during dealer prep and nothing to worry about. So I cleaned it off and went on my first trip. First stop at rest area I was happy to see all wheels clean. Then about 100 miles later I noticed the splatter on only that same wheel. The other three didn't have a drop on them. By the time I got home it was just getting worse. I know nothing about wheel bearings so I'm trying to learn up on it but I have no idea what kind or size they are and the owners manual does not seem to exist anywhere for this camper. Any help or point in a direction or even an opinion I would be very grateful for.
chrosw726 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 02:09 AM   #2

I forgot to ask if the axle is the so called EZ lube type or something different?
Old 07-19-2015, 02:16 AM   #3
Just a member

Firstly, welcome to the forum!

I suspect some 3500 lb, leaf sprung, Dexter axles are installed on your Wildwood. I might be wrong...

You should have received, along with the owner's manual, documentation associated with all the equipment installed in your rig. That would include information (manual) related to the axles installed on the trailer.

The driver that delivered your TT is full of you-know-what. Grease being sprayed onto the wheels means the bearing/axle assy is not properly sealed. I would first want to access the dust seal/cap located at the outer end of the axle in question. If your have white spoked wheels, the dust cap should be in plain view. It may not be seated properly. And... a picture would be awesomely handy at this point.