Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2018, 01:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Concertone System

I have a 2013 Cardinal 29LE fifth wheel and wanting to run the Concertone unit through my smart TV. Has anyone done this and how? I bought a couple of things I thought would work but didn't. I bought an adaptor for the RCA outputs to run out to an HDMI cable and to the TV,no dice. Also no RCA inputs on my TV, just HDMI and S audio. Any help would be much appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 01:50 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
What model Concertone do you have. The ZX-800 has an HDMI output located behind the unit that is almost never hooked up.

A short run of HDMI might fix it.

NOTE! - The ZX-800 is HDMI video only since the intent is that you would be using the ZX-800 as the audio source.

With others, you might need an RCA to HDMI upconverter:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...E&gclsrc=aw.ds
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ZX-800 connections.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	198.9 KB
ID:	180933  
__________________

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 01:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
What model Concertone do you have. The ZX-800 has an HDMI output located behind the unit that is almost never hooked up.

A short run of HDMI might fix it.

NOTE! - The ZX-800 is HDMI video only since the intent is that you would be using the ZX-800 as the audio source.

With others, you might need an RCA to HDMI upconverter:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...E&gclsrc=aw.ds
It doesn't even show a model number, even in the manual??? Just Concertone and 5.1 Surround Sound on the bottom. I bought what you sent and tried it, couldn't get it going. I don't see an access to get to the back to check for an HDMI output. Thanks for the info.
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 02:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
It doesn't even show a model number, even in the manual??? Just Concertone and 5.1 Surround Sound on the bottom. I bought what you sent and tried it, couldn't get it going. I don't see an access to get to the back to check for an HDMI output. Thanks for the info.

Just looked at what I've already bought and neither is what you sent. What you sent seems it should work and I'm going to get it. Thanks!
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 02:03 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
Post a photo of the unit and the cover of the manual.

I might be able to figure it out.

Don't forget the upconverters are powered so you will need to plug in a power supply (wall wart or USB off your TV). Also make sure your TV can display the resolution you set the HDMI to (720p or 1080p)

If it is a ZX-800 the cover is easy to come off using a flat bladed screw driver underneath the faceplate. Pop out the bottom carefully and lift straight up (NOT AWAY). The plastic pins at the top are VERY easy to break off. Don't ask how I found out. The unit is secured to the woodwork with 4 screws.
Attached Images
   
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 02:06 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
This is the GT-3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Genesis 3.0 Faceplate.JPG
Views:	30
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	180942  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 02:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Post a photo of the unit and the cover of the manual.

I might be able to figure it out.

Don't forget the upconverters are powered so you will need to plug in a power supply (wall wart or USB off your TV). Also make sure your TV can display the resolution you set the HDMI to (720p or 1080p)

If it is a ZX-800 the cover is easy to come off using a flat bladed screw driver underneath the faceplate. Pop out the bottom carefully and lift straight up (NOT AWAY). The plastic pins at the top are VERY easy to break off. Don't ask how I found out. The unit is secured to the woodwork with 4 screws.
I believe the link that you sent RCA to HDMI out should work. I'm going to give it a shot. Thanks again for the info.
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 08:10 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
Sure thing Pokey.

Just thinking that if I knew what unit you had I could give you a copy of the digital manual.


I included all the Concertone manuals I have. I did not include their Genisis line since it is like my ZX-800 in looks.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ZX75 Manual 1st gen.pdf (1.10 MB, 10 views)
File Type: pdf ZX500Concertone.pdf (1.52 MB, 11 views)
File Type: pdf ZX700 Owners Manual.pdf (9.63 MB, 7 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 08:25 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Sure thing Pokey.

Just thinking that if I knew what unit you had I could give you a copy of the digital manual.


I included all the Concertone manuals I have. I did not include their Genisis line since it is like my ZX-800 in looks.
Thanks for the manuals, I'll see which one goes with my unit. I'm hoping the adaptor from Newegg will do the trick.
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 10:50 AM   #10
Wanna Be Camper
 
SaskCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Posts: 2,420
On your remote control if it is a ZX700 or GT3.0 there will be a button about the middle of the remote that will say GT3.0 or ZX700. This button returns control of the remote to the sound system. So the name on the button will tell you what unit you have. I am only sure of those two as I have had both.
__________________

John & Deb
2011 F250 Lariat FX4 Crew Cab 6.2
2011 Flagstaff V-Lite 30WRLS
SaskCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 05:59 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Sure thing Pokey.

Just thinking that if I knew what unit you had I could give you a copy of the digital manual.


I included all the Concertone manuals I have. I did not include their Genisis line since it is like my ZX-800 in looks.
I got the converter you showed, already had a power source adaptor and have it hooked up using the red/white RCA audio from the unit and HDMI into the TV. I set my TV to HDMI in turned on the unit and can't seem to find the correct setting on the unit for it to work. I only have 2 options on the unit other than CD, radio and TV, input 1 or 2. The TV mode will only give 2 options also, air channel 1 or 2. I'm stumped now and also watched a few YouTube videos about it. Any advise? Thanks for you help!
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 06:03 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaskCampers View Post
On your remote control if it is a ZX700 or GT3.0 there will be a button about the middle of the remote that will say GT3.0 or ZX700. This button returns control of the remote to the sound system. So the name on the button will tell you what unit you have. I am only sure of those two as I have had both.
Thanks for the info but my remote shows neither of the model numbers you showed. There is no model shown on the remote or the unit. Thanks again.
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2018, 07:44 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
I believe the link that you sent RCA to HDMI out should work. I'm going to give it a shot. Thanks again for the info.
The unit
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Concertone.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	278.7 KB
ID:	181507  
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 06:52 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
Post a photo of the unit and the cover of the manual.

I might be able to figure it out.

Don't forget the upconverters are powered so you will need to plug in a power supply (wall wart or USB off your TV). Also make sure your TV can display the resolution you set the HDMI to (720p or 1080p)

If it is a ZX-800 the cover is easy to come off using a flat bladed screw driver underneath the faceplate. Pop out the bottom carefully and lift straight up (NOT AWAY). The plastic pins at the top are VERY easy to break off. Don't ask how I found out. The unit is secured to the woodwork with 4 screws.
I posted a picture of the unit.
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:15 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 13,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
I posted a picture of the unit.
Your Conn unit is 4 years Older than ours,and ours was OUTDATED when NEW! Same thing with our "Delphi XM" that was also installed at the same time,OBSOLETE! So like us it is Time to "UPDATE" your system! It can be done just LOTS of WIRES in that "Snakepit"! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:35 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
Your Conn unit is 4 years Older than ours,and ours was OUTDATED when NEW! Same thing with our "Delphi XM" that was also installed at the same time,OBSOLETE! So like us it is Time to "UPDATE" your system! It can be done just LOTS of WIRES in that "Snakepit"! Youroo!!
Thanks for the info, I think you're correct the unit is too old to do what I'm wanting to do. I may upgrade but it's not that important but I would like for it to be an option. Thanks again!
__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:57 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
pokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Anywhere I roam
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey View Post
Thanks for the info, I think you're correct the unit is too old to do what I'm wanting to do. I may upgrade but it's not that important but I would like for it to be an option. Thanks again!
Oh, I don't have the patience to mess with a snake pit of wiring!
__________________

__________________
Pokey
Permanent RV'er
2006 Cardinal 29LE

Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.
Retirement life........
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
concertone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


×